Author Topic: Errata to the Timing Breakdown  (Read 80 times)

Offline dilbert505

  • Raw Deal Rules Manager
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3137
    • View Profile
Errata to the Timing Breakdown
« on: November 23, 2021, 05:55:02 PM »
Upon review of a question regarding the ability of a card combination, specifically Accompanied by Kimberly and Blindside Takedown, to reduce the Fortitude of a card being played, I came upon conflicting rulings regarding the intent of the legality check at step 2d of the Timing Breakdown: specifically, whether the phrase "the card remains where it started" implies that cards do not leave their zone to go to no zone at step 1, where that text was listed, but rather at step 2d upon the completion of the legality check.

The conflicting rulings can be found: here, for the older one, and here, for the newer.

This suggests something I thought I would never suggest: the Timing Breakdown is wrong. Or, rather, it's written incorrectly to get across what it actually means. As such, I am issuing, of all things, errata to the Timing Breakdown.

This errata impacts step 1 and step 2d, and is simply the move of the incorrectly placed sentence to the proper location (along with some minor grammatical cleanup.)

1 Play the card.
1a Reveal the card to all players and choose a target or targets for the card (if any.)

2a Determine the Fortitude cost for the card, including modifiers, the effects of the card's player first, then his opponent's effects. (Multiplication/division first, then addition/subtraction.) You may not play a card if you cannot meet the Fortitude cost, unless a 'when played' effect can lower the Fortitude cost; this effect can only be as a function of playing the card.
2b Determine that you can meet all of the 'must' requirements listed on the card.
2c Check that a Follow-up condition is met (if required), including any 'ignore the text' effects.
2d If any of these steps can not be satisfied, the sequence ends immediately and the card remains where it started. (It does not count as having been played.) If these steps are satisfied, the card moves to no area, and until the card is moved to another area, it is not in any area while resolving the Timing Breakdown.

The remainder of the Timing Breakdown remains as written.

This more accurately reflects what occurs when playing a card: you have to pass the legality check before the card begins its trip through the TB proper. If it cannot pass the legality check, it cannot move at all. This erases the phantom return to its original location implied by the earlier wording, as it doesn't even attempt to leave its current area until it actually can.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2021, 06:06:56 PM by dilbert505 »
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.