Author Topic: Kofi question  (Read 384 times)

Offline Hogtrail

  • Posts: 1224
  • +16/-5
    • View Profile
Kofi question
« on: May 22, 2019, 06:44:48 PM »
Kofi Kingston
Starting Hand Size: 7     Superstar Value: 2
Superstar Ability:  Once during each of your turns, when your maneuver is unsuccessful, you may discard 1 card and overturn 2 cards, and your turn does not end; the next card you play this turn can only be a High Risk maneuver, but replace the "after a successfully played" text on that High Risk with "after an unsuccessfully played", and when that maneuver is successfully played and damage is resolved, end your turn.
Your maneuvers are +1 Stun Value.
You can pack High-Flying Style.

Unorthodox Style of Wrestling
Pre-match Event
When this card is in your Ring area, whenever you play a High Risk maneuver after a Submission maneuver, it cannot be reversed from your opponent's hand.
F: 0      D: 0

If Kofi unsuccessfully plays a submission, uses his ability, then plays a high risk, would that high risk be protected by Unorthodox?
Please Like The Film Slobs on Facebook and Twitter!

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 3 Judge, Old Man of the Mountain
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10753
  • +320/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Kofi question
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2019, 09:46:05 PM »
Yes. Unorthodox Style of Wrestling doesn't specify that the Submission must be successful. If you find a way to play a High Risk after an unsuccessful Submission (like Kofi's Ability), it totally works.
Nate Weiss, Retired Dealer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline NJDevil18

  • Posts: 46
  • +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Kofi question
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2020, 04:59:04 PM »
Even if the submission is reversed from hand, the opponent's reversal does not break the chain?  Technically isn't your opponent's reversal played after the submission maneuver not the high risk?  Thanks.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 3 Judge, Old Man of the Mountain
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10753
  • +320/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Kofi question
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2020, 07:14:26 AM »
Your opponent's stuff doesn't affect your follow-ups. Otherwise, Suicide Dive would be a legal play after your opponent reverses you with Dude, Try Something Else, which is obviously ludicrous.
Nate Weiss, Retired Dealer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.