Author Topic: You Can't Spell "FUNAKI" without F-U-N, From the Middle Turnbuckle, Wrestlemania  (Read 182 times)

Offline Keith0913832

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 771
  • +14/-3
  • Onward with the <R>evolution!
    • View Profile
Popping this Q&A from Discord for recording purposes.

You Can’t Spell “Funaki” Without F-U-N
Pre-match Event: Face
When this card is in your Ring area, during your turn you may put this card into your Ringside pile and then put 1 Face card and 1 Unique card from your Ringside pile and 1 of your cards that has been removed from the game into your hand.
¶ ¶ ¶ (Activated Card Effect Symbol)
F: 0      D: 0

The ACE above can only be done if there is a Face AND unique in Ringside, AND 1 RFG card.

Explanation (direct copy paste from Dilbert's post):
“Do What You Can” vs. “Do it All or Else”
-If a card requires a cost to be paid for an effect to occur, you must be able to both pay the cost and complete the effect to trigger the effect.
-If a card has text that occurs upon successfully playing that card, you do what you can.
ACEs are Do it All or Else. If you don't have valid targets for the effect, you are not permitted to even attempt to pay the cost.

The above is different from the ruling of successfully playing cards like From the Middle Turnbuckle that do not specific 'up to', but its just to the best of your ability.

From the Middle Turnbuckle
Action: Set-up
Can only be played after a successfully played maneuver or if you reversed a card from your Arsenal to end your opponent’s last turn.
Put 1 non-unique High Risk maneuver from your Ringside pile into your hand and if your next card played this turn is a High Risk maneuver, you may ignore the “Can only be played after…” text and it cannot be reversed from your opponent’s Backlash deck.
F: 5      D: 0

Explanation (direct copy paste from Dilbert's post):
-If a card has text that occurs upon successfully playing that card, you do what you can.


WrestleMania
Pre-match Pay-Per-View Event
Can only be played when there is a Feud card in any Ring area.
The maximum number of Pre-match cards you may have in your Ring area is increased by 1.
If you are about to lose the game via Pinfall victory, you may instead put this card into your Ringside pile and then all players put their hand on top of their Arsenal and then shuffle # cards from their Ringside pile into their Arsenal, where # is equal to double their Superstar Value. (This is not affected by the card titled Hell in a Cell Match.) End the current turn.
When this card is in your Ringside pile, before your Draw Segment, remove the top card of your Arsenal from the game.
Permanent
Unique
F: 0      D: 0

If the person activating the card is not able to shuffle that number of cards from Ringside, then Wrestlemania can't be used.
Eg. my SSV is 5, so i get to shuffle 10. But because it is worded in bold above, if you only have 9 (applicable) cards, you cannot ACE Wrestlemania.

Explanation (direct copy paste from Deburaito's post):
One more of this example that a lot of ppl overlook is Wrestlemania, where the player popping that ACE HAS to have sufficient cards to recover from ringside. This scenario can happen when players lose via pin fall due to instant win condition cards like backslide/slingshot into the ring etc or just purely have most of their cards in their ring/hand/rfg
« Last Edit: August 27, 2020, 06:32:20 PM by Keith0913832 »