Author Topic: Ruling question for For Real  (Read 300 times)

Offline BigFreaknDude

  • Posts: 12
  • +0/-0
    • View Profile
Ruling question for For Real
« on: July 24, 2020, 04:47:15 PM »
For Real

Mid-match Reversal: Special

When played by Chris Benoit, this card is -6F.

Reverse any non-Trademark-Finisher maneuver and end your opponent’s turn. Discard 2 cards. Search your Arsenal and Ringside pile for up to 2 cards with the word “rabid” in the title, reveal them to your opponent, put them into your hand, and shuffle your Arsenal.


F: 6      D: 0

Okay, so my question is. When you play this card to reverse a Maneuver, do you have to discard 2 cards in order to search for Rapid attack and Rapid wolverine. There is a period after, "Discard 2 cards. Search your arsenal... etc." Making it a totally different ability of this card. Is that correct, that in order to play/search I do not have to discard 2 cards

Online CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 21742
  • +494/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Ruling question for For Real
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2020, 07:00:52 PM »
Bad news - There's no option given, such as 'you may', so it's not optional.

Good news - Because it doesn't say "You must discard 2", you fulfill to the best of your ability. If you have 0-1 cards in hand, discard what you can, then proceed to the next effect (search).

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard