Author Topic: Defeating Villianous Shenanigans and Straight Shootin Interview ?  (Read 129 times)

Offline The Kisser

  • Posts: 95
  • +0/-6
    • View Profile
When playing DVS w/ SSI can a player still make an opponent do the text of the Straight Shootin Interview about
"When this Card is in your ring, If you successfully play a card w/ "Shoot" in the title, Remove the top card of your arsenal ot make the opponent remove the top 2 of theirs" even though On DVS states "All players Straight Shooting Interview cards are Active and and are considered not to have shoot in the title for their card effects" or does the text get Negated cause of DVS?

Offline dilbert505

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2568
  • +49/-42
  • The Prince of Insufficient Light
    • View Profile
Re: Defeating Villianous Shenanigans and Straight Shootin Interview ?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2020, 07:14:53 PM »
Well, first things first, this is a rules question, so off to the Rules forum we go.

Also, the card text of Straight-Shootin' Interview:

Straight-Shootin’ Interview
Pre-match Event
When this card is in your Ring area, if you successfully play a maneuver with the word “shoot” in the title, remove the top card of your Arsenal from the game and remove the top 2 cards of your opponent’s Arsenal from the game. During your turn, you may put this card into your Ringside pile and then he overturns cards equal to the number of maneuvers in your Ring area with the word “shoot” in the title.
¶ ¶ ¶ (Activated Card Effect Symbol)
Cheater logo
F: 0      D: 0

As to the question, yes, you can use the text of Straight-Shootin' Interview to remove cards from the game whenever you successfully play a shoot maneuver. DVS limits you to playing only one copy of Straight-Shootin' Interview (thanks to it now being Active), but the second half of that sentence has no bearing on SSI itself. It primarily exists so that Shoot Counter does not see SSI in your Ring; you have to successfully play another card with Shoot in the title for that to be a valid play.

Note that SSI triggers off a successful maneuver, not a successful card; you can't trigger that effect just because you played SSI, but that's not because of DVS.
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.