Author Topic: Two-Time question  (Read 200 times)

Offline The P6 Peep

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
  • +21/-40
  • "P6!"
    • View Profile
Two-Time question
« on: March 01, 2020, 10:52:16 AM »
So the card Two-Time! Two-Time!:

Two-Time!  Two-Time!
Action + Antic / Reversal: Special
When you have lower Fortitude, can only be reversed by 2 reversal cards. This card is -2F for each D: 2+ card in your opponent's Ring.
As an action, choose two of the following: draw up to 2 cards, shuffle up to 2 cards from your Ringside into your Arsenal, remove up to 2 cards in his Ringside from the game, flip up to 2 D: 0 cards in any Ring over, he puts 2 cards from his hand on the bottom of his Arsenal, or he overturns 2 cards.
As a reversal, this card is -22F; reverse Poke or Shake, and he discards 2 cards.
F: 22     D: 2     SV: 2     Unique     Multi     RMS logo     Permanent

That part that flips cards over.... how does that work? Can you do it to RMS and Permanent cards? And when they are "flipped over"... does it mean that they basically don't exist in the ring area anymore? have no effect on the match anymore? Is there anyway to unflip them (outside of some weird Superstar ability like Xavier Woods)?

thanks guys

- The P6 Peep



"Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!"

Offline CRASHER

  • Posts: 4892
  • +91/-56
    • View Profile
Re: Two-Time question
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2020, 11:03:18 AM »
RMS cards can not be flipped because that would be modifying the card. Similar logic as to why permanent cards can't be flipped since it would mess with the permanent trait as well
*IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII* AM the Super Show 2017 Tag Team Champions!!!!!!

Offline The P6 Peep

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
  • +21/-40
  • "P6!"
    • View Profile
Re: Two-Time question
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2020, 11:25:05 AM »
idk... feels like a gray area..... Is flipping the card considered "removing it from the ring area".. because permanent cards cannot be removed from the ring area, but they can be blanked... would this be similar to blanking them, since they are technically still in the ring, just flipped face down?

RMS stops "modifications" being made to a card.... is "flipping" considered a modification?

My Raw Deal gut is saying neither condition will stop the flip...  :-\

- The P6 Peep



"Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!"

Offline dilbert505

  • Raw Deal Rules Manager
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2629
  • +50/-42
    • View Profile
Re: Two-Time question
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2020, 11:38:54 AM »
Fortunately, gut instincts aren't required; we have explicit rules text.

Quote from: V5
Virtual 5: Nexus Or Against Us

500 Card Set

New Rules:
* New Superstar Type: Rookie - A Rookie Superstar may pack 1 PRO card in his Backstage Area.
* Cards that are flipped over do not affect the game, they lose all traits but retain their card title, and they become the card type 'Face-Down'; a Permanent, Active or RMS card cannot become face-down.  Face-Down cards are public knowledge, just like face up cards.  (Cards face-down UNDER other cards are still protected.)

It is baked in to the rules for flipping cards that Permanent, Active, and RMS cards are not valid targets to flip.

As to your other questions:
a) the only interactions face-down cards have with the game, once flipped, are those defined by a Superstar's cards (like Eve getting Fortitude from them and being unable to flip them face up) and those that check for "when you have {card titled X} in your Ring."
b) there are non-Superstar-specific ways to unflip cards, Turning Everything Upside Down being the one that immediately comes to mind for me.
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.

Offline The P6 Peep

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
  • +21/-40
  • "P6!"
    • View Profile
Re: Two-Time question
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2020, 11:44:43 AM »
awesome Dilbert.. thank you so much for posting that virtual rule... I did search for rules on "Flipping" but came up empty.. didn't find it in the Virtual FAQ or Omni... I appreciate the clarification... thanks guys

- The P6 Peep



"Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!"

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 3 Judge, Old Man of the Mountain
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10736
  • +320/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Two-Time question
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2020, 07:54:06 PM »
The rules for face-down cards are in the Virtual FAQ's Glossary section, under "Flip Over."
Nate Weiss, Retired Dealer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.