Author Topic: Applied and Resolved  (Read 141 times)

Offline Kingsantino92

  • Posts: 245
  • +4/-2
    • View Profile
Applied and Resolved
« on: August 04, 2019, 03:08:18 PM »
What is the difference between applied and resolved?

Offline Kingsantino92

  • Posts: 245
  • +4/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Applied and Resolved
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2019, 03:11:07 PM »
For example, I'm using Bayley and my opponent successfully plays a non unique maneuver of 1D+ but I blank the text and damage with Ole! can i still use my ability to pick up a card from ringside or would that be a no because the maneuver didn't apply any damage it just resolved as 0D with blank text?

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10684
  • +319/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Applied and Resolved
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2019, 03:26:51 PM »
It's a no, because blanking the damage means that it's not a 1D+ card anymore.

In general, the difference between "damage has been applied" and "card has resolved" is that the latter waits until everything else is done and the card's Timing Sequence is completely over, whereas the former applies during step 9c or 9d, depending on whose it is. I'm struggling to think of anywhere where we actually ask you to wait until the card is done resolving, though.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Kingsantino92

  • Posts: 245
  • +4/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Applied and Resolved
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2019, 10:02:25 PM »
In Sami Zayn ability where your opponent completely reverses your card and damage has been resolved I get to promo 2.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10684
  • +319/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Applied and Resolved
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2019, 10:45:20 PM »
Right, okay. We worded it that way because it needed to be clear that the whole situation, including the damage from the reversal to Sami's card, needed to be over and done with before you Promo.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.