Author Topic: Kozlov Question  (Read 116 times)

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 2095
  • +77/-70
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Kozlov Question
« on: August 03, 2019, 06:56:39 PM »
VLADIMIR KOZLOV
Starting Hand Size: 6       Superstar Value: 2
Superstar Ability:  Once during each of your turns you may discard 1 card and then search your Arsenal for 1 non-Throwback maneuver with 'head butt', 'headbutt', or 'judo' in the title, reveal it, put it in your hand, and shuffle; those maneuvers are +1D for each of them in your Ring.
You can pack non-Pre-match BASH cards even if you are packing Face, Heel, Chain, Heat, or Volley.


A Quick BASH-ing!
Pre-match Event / Mid-match Strike
This card is packed as either a Pre-match or a Mid-match.
As an event, your opponent may reverse this card as if it was a non-unique Strike maneuver played on your turn.
As a maneuver, when you have lower Fortitude than him, can only be reversed from Arsenal, and you may play this card from Ringside.
Your non-Unique maneuvers are -2F.
F: 2     D: 0     Unique

Silly question: Can Kozlov pack BASH-ing as a mid-match while packing Face, Heel, Chain, Heat, or Volley?
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline Tim (From SG)

  • Posts: 68
  • +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Kozlov Question
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2019, 08:29:55 PM »
I'm inclined to say NO since its still packed in your backlash. Let's hear what the rules gurus say.

Offline dilbert505

  • Posts: 2502
  • +49/-42
  • The Prince of Insufficient Light
    • View Profile
Re: Kozlov Question
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2019, 08:54:52 PM »
No. A card is all its types at all times, except when being played, which suppresses all the other modes until it is finished resolving. The text on Quick Bashing is there to clarify that it does not take both a Pre-Match and Mid-Match slot in your Backlash deck.
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10711
  • +319/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Kozlov Question
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2019, 09:23:50 PM »
Dilbert is usually right on the money, and I trust his calls.

This isn't one of those times.

This is exactly the same situation as Test packing Backstage Shenanigans as a Mid-match or MNM packing My Game, My Way! as a Pre-match. If you pack A Quick BASH-ing! as a Mid-match, then by its own text, you aren't packing it as a Pre-match, so things that look for Pre-match cards, of any specification, won't see it. Kozlov can pack A Quick BASH-ing! in the Mid and play it as a Pre, 100% legal.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.