Author Topic: Commitment Ceremony  (Read 191 times)

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 2086
  • +77/-70
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Commitment Ceremony
« on: June 26, 2019, 06:38:50 AM »
Commitment Ceremony     (Billy & Chuck logo)
Backstage Card
Cannot be packed when packing Corners.
Your Billy & Chuck-specific Pre-match cards cannot be blanked and your Pre-match Capacity is +2.
Do not remove Heat cards from the game when your Superstar-specific actions move cards from Ringside.
Once during each of your turns, you may discard 1 maneuver and choose one: reveal cards from the top of your Arsenal until you reveal a maneuver, put that card in your hand, and shuffle; OR your next maneuver played this turn is Multi.
Unique     RMS logo

Panic Assault
Mid-Match Strike
Can only be played when your Fortitude Rating is less than your opponent's Fortitude Rating. Can only be played with a printed F:0 Grapple maneuver of printed 3D or less from your hand. He cannot play the card titled Over Sell Maneuver immediately after you play these cards.
Unless both maneuvers are reversed when played, both are considered successfully played and both go into your Ring area. Unless both cards are reversed, your turn continues.
 (Restricted Modification Symbol)
F: 0      D:

On my turn I play Panic Assault; may I discard 1 maneuver for Commitment Ceremony to make the accompanying maneuver required for Panic Assault to become a Multi?
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline Buddha Dudley

  • 2011 & 2012 World Champion / 2014 & 2015 ACMT Winner
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2403
  • +227/-134
  • It's good to be the boss!
    • View Profile
    • VELACARDS.com for all your Raw Deal Purchasing Needs
Re: Commitment Ceremony
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2019, 07:34:30 AM »
From the OMNI

Panic Assault, Panic Grab, Panic Throw (rulings for all three)
<SNIP>
-The Panic Maneuver is played first, and that allows the player to reveal a Maneuver from hand and play it.

So what would happen is you trigger Commitment Ceremony, call Multi for your next move and when you try and play Panic, it's considered first.
VP of the Raw Deal Players Committee

Buddha's tl;dr for every post "I go to PWG all the time...bay-bay!"

Drew is pretty well the king

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 2086
  • +77/-70
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Re: Commitment Ceremony
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2019, 07:39:12 AM »
From the OMNI

Panic Assault, Panic Grab, Panic Throw (rulings for all three)
<SNIP>
-The Panic Maneuver is played first, and that allows the player to reveal a Maneuver from hand and play it.

So what would happen is you trigger Commitment Ceremony, call Multi for your next move and when you try and play Panic, it's considered first.

I understand that; what I'm asking is can I play the Panic, THEN use Ceremony's effect to make the move after panic a multi?
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline Buddha Dudley

  • 2011 & 2012 World Champion / 2014 & 2015 ACMT Winner
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2403
  • +227/-134
  • It's good to be the boss!
    • View Profile
    • VELACARDS.com for all your Raw Deal Purchasing Needs
Re: Commitment Ceremony
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2019, 07:54:58 AM »
No.  You gotta finish playing the Panic and the maneuver with it.  You either use the Commitment Ceremony before playing the Panic and the Maneuver with it or after fully resolving the Panic and the maneuver with it.
VP of the Raw Deal Players Committee

Buddha's tl;dr for every post "I go to PWG all the time...bay-bay!"

Drew is pretty well the king

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 2086
  • +77/-70
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Re: Commitment Ceremony
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2019, 07:57:40 AM »
No.  You gotta finish playing the Panic and the maneuver with it.  You either use the Commitment Ceremony before playing the Panic and the Maneuver with it or after fully resolving the Panic and the maneuver with it.

Understood, thank you sir.
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline dilbert505

  • Posts: 2465
  • +49/-42
  • The Prince of Insufficient Light
    • View Profile
Re: Commitment Ceremony
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2019, 08:02:28 AM »
To get a bit more granular, here's the Timing Breakdown up through the point where the opponent may generate a reversal effect:

Timing Breakdown
1 Play the card.  Until the card is moved to another area, it is not in any area while resolving the Timing Breakdown.
1a Reveal the card to all players and choose a target or targets for the card (if any.)

2a Determine the Fortitude cost for the card, including modifiers, the effects of the card’s player first, then his opponent’s effects. (Multiplication/division first, then addition/subtraction.) You may not play a card if you cannot meet the Fortitude cost, unless a ‘when played’ effect can lower the Fortitude cost; this effect can only be as a function of playing the card.
2b Determine that you can meet all of the 'must' requirements listed on the card.
2c Check that a Follow-up condition is met (if required), including any ‘ignore the text’ effects.
2d If any of these steps can not be satisfied, the sequence ends immediately and the card remains where it started. (It does not count as having been played.)
2e Apply any ‘when played’ effects from the card’s controller.
2f Apply any ‘when played’ effects from the opponent.

3a Apply damage modifiers from sources that you control. (Multiplication/division first, then addition/subtraction.)
3b Apply reversal modifiers of the card played.(self-plunging or maneuvers that bar reversals (Panics, Atomic Lariat, Shoots, etc.))

4 Apply damage modifiers from sources your targeted opponent controls. (Multiplication/division first, then addition/subtraction.)

5a Targeted opponent may play a reversal card or generate a reversal effect. (If he plays a reversal card, that card will follow its own Timing Breakdown sequence.)

There is no point in between Step 1 and Step 5a to trigger an outside effect that is not a "When played" effect, which Commitment Ceremony is not. (Moreover, the "Can only be played with" text triggers, as far as I can tell, either at Step 1a or Step 2b, narrowing the available window even further.)
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.