Author Topic: Maintain vs. Sustain  (Read 217 times)

Offline Hogtrail

  • Posts: 831
  • +16/-5
    • View Profile
Maintain vs. Sustain
« on: June 21, 2019, 02:32:26 PM »
Maintain Hold
Action + Action
Can only be played after a successfully played non-Restricted-Modification-Symbol Submission maneuver.
End your turn. The maintained maneuver is not considered a Multi maneuver. You and your opponent cannot play any cards that do not reverse the maintained maneuver until it is reversed. Once during each of your turns, the maintained maneuver does its damage along with any effects. If the maintained maneuver is reversed, it is no longer considered maintained.  
F: 10      D: 0

Sustained Damage (SS2)
Mid-match Reversal: Special
Can only be played after a successfully played maneuver. 
When this card is in your Ring area, before damage has been applied from a card successfully played by your opponent, you can discard any number of cards to reduce the damage by 2 for each card discarded. 
   (Activated Card Effect Symbol)  
F: 0      D: 0

Can you activate Sustained Damage on a Maintained maneuver? I always assumed you could, but a closer look at the wording makes me skeptical.
Please Like The Film Slobs on Facebook and Twitter!

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10720
  • +319/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Maintain vs. Sustain
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2019, 09:47:59 AM »
Yes, you can use Sustained Damage to reduce the damage applied by the maneuver being affected by Maintain Hold.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.