Author Topic: Several Funkin' Questions  (Read 203 times)

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 2040
  • +77/-70
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Several Funkin' Questions
« on: April 28, 2019, 08:29:16 AM »

Terry Funk
Starting Hand Size: 6     Superstar Value: 4
Extremist Legend Ability: When your first card played on your turn is a maneuver with 'classic' in the title, you may also immediately play a Foreign Object without 'reversed' in the text from hand; unless both cards are reversed, your turn continues.
You can pack No Sell Maneuver, but you cannot pack Managers, There is No Escape, or Everything and the Kitchen Sink. Your Foreign Objects are not Heel or Raw.
V8

Hardcore Timekeeper's Bell
Action: Foreign Object
Can only be played after a successfully played card.
When this card is in your Ring area, if you successfully play a maneuver, you may put this card into your Ringside pile and your opponent discards 5 cards.
¶ ¶ ¶ (Activated Card Effect Symbol)
F: 2 D: 0

(With Extreme Rules Match out) Can I play the Timekeeper's Bell with a Classic Maneuver, then Activate the bell if the classic is successful to force a discard?

From The Double Cross Ranch
Pre-match Event
Cannot be blanked and can be played during the Venue phase.
Your Starting Hand Size is +2, your Terry Funk-specific cards do not take up Pre-match or Mid-match slots in your Ring, and your F: 0 maneuvers with 'classic' in the title are considered Foreign Objects.
When your maneuver with 'classic' in the title is unsuccessful, he overturns 3 cards.
F: 0     D: 0     Unique     Permanent     ECW logo
V8

First Blood Match
Pre-Match Stipulation
Cannot be packed by a Female Superstar.
Can only be played when there is a feud card in any Ring area.
Any player that has at least 6 Foreign Object Maneuver cards in his Ring area, or at least 3 Foreign Object Maneuver cards and then successfully plays the card titled Busted Wide Open, Wins the game via Pinfall victory.
Active
Permanent

During what part of the game/for how long/in which area of the game are Funk's 0 Fortitude Classic Maneuvers considered Foreign Objects? Obviously here I'm wondering if they are counted in the ring area for First Blood Match.


Thank you for your time!
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10590
  • +319/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Several Funkin' Questions
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2019, 06:29:33 PM »
Yes, you can pop Hardcore Timekeeper's Bell on the maneuver that it's played with. Both cards go into the Ring in step 6, and you get the chance to use the Bell during step 7a.

Double Cross Ranch makes your 0F Classics Foreign Objects wherever they are, forever. They count toward First Blood Match.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 2040
  • +77/-70
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Re: Several Funkin' Questions
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2019, 02:43:18 AM »
Does Funk's ability play nice with panic maneuvers?



Panic Assault
Mid-Match Strike

Can only be played when your Fortitude Rating is less than your opponent’s Fortitude Rating. Can only be played with a printed F:0 Grapple maneuver of printed 3D or less from your hand. He cannot play the card titled Over Sell Maneuver immediately after you play these cards.
Unless both maneuvers are reversed when played, both are considered successfully played and both go into your Ring area. Unless both cards are reversed, your turn continues.
¶ (Restricted Modification Symbol)
F: 0      D: 3
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline dilbert505

  • Posts: 2378
  • +49/-42
  • The Prince of Insufficient Light
    • View Profile
Re: Several Funkin' Questions
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2019, 06:47:31 AM »
There is no way for Funk's ability to interact with Panic maneuvers.

For Funk's ability to trigger, your first card played must be a maneuver with "classic" in the title, which no Panic has, and no Panic is a Foreign Object without 'reversed' in the text played from hand, so it cannot be paired with a Classic for Funk's ability.
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 2040
  • +77/-70
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Re: Several Funkin' Questions
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2019, 10:03:51 AM »
There is no way for Funk's ability to interact with Panic maneuvers.

For Funk's ability to trigger, your first card played must be a maneuver with "classic" in the title, which no Panic has, and no Panic is a Foreign Object without 'reversed' in the text played from hand, so it cannot be paired with a Classic for Funk's ability.

Yeah, this is why I shouldn't ask rules questions while on cold medicine.
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 21286
  • +493/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Several Funkin' Questions
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2019, 10:24:34 AM »
Nah, it's common.  There's been a lot of 'Can I use this X+Y combo with Panics?' over the years, and it's always an RTFC issue with the Panic.  You don't play 'move + Panic', it's 'Panic + move' and any effect we make is intentionally designed not to work with Panics for some weird wacky triple combo.  :)  (Wording errors notwithstanding of course)

CREED
V9: NXT Takeover ("A" Section) - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard