Author Topic: General Questions  (Read 362 times)

Offline Tim (From SG)

  • Posts: 21
  • +1/-0
    • View Profile
General Questions
« on: November 24, 2018, 07:49:31 PM »
Hi guys

Would like to ask and clarify the following situations:

#1: Does "Your Reach Exceeds Your Grasp" reverse the Multi-Volley maneuver, for e.g. TB Volley Punch right away with the Volley Punch bouncing back to opponent's hand? OR does it still require another reversal, before playing "Your Reach"? Cause it mentions reverse "any Multi Volley maneuver", but there's no "completely" in the card text.

#2: If "Back Throw" as a move activates its burning effect (opponent overturning cards), and opponent overturns Douchebag/Carlito/Divine/Missed Chance, does the reversal ends the phase completely? Or opponent still has to take damage for the damage portion (e.g. 8 dmg as a move) ?   

Thank you.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10489
  • +317/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2018, 08:20:35 PM »
1) Reach is one reversal, it doesn't completely reverse cards. If it's the first reversal to a Multi, like Sucker Punch TB, it can't move the Multi, because it's still in the middle of its Timing Sequence. The second reversal will act normally, and Reach's redirection effect will be ignored.

2) Reversing a card's text is the same as reversing the card. If you reverse the burn from Back Throw, you reversed Back Throw, and it won't deal damage, because it was reversed.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Tim (From SG)

  • Posts: 21
  • +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2018, 08:58:12 PM »
Very well explained. Thanks man!  8)

Offline Tim (From SG)

  • Posts: 21
  • +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2018, 08:19:16 AM »
Another question to clarify.

For #2: If the maneuver (same example, Back Throw) becomes multi and causes a burn effect (for e.g. when played by FBI, it is multi), does reversing the burn effect with Carlito/Douchebag end the turn as well? Thereby, skipping the damage phase, since the burn effect is reversed. Or multi has an impact for such effects? (i.e. requiring the reversal to indicate "completely reverse", like Divine Intervention).

Offline niiiiick

  • Posts: 949
  • +16/-8
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2018, 08:53:45 AM »
Another question to clarify.

For #2: If the maneuver (same example, Back Throw) becomes multi and causes a burn effect (for e.g. when played by FBI, it is multi), does reversing the burn effect with Carlito/Douchebag end the turn as well? Thereby, skipping the damage phase, since the burn effect is reversed. Or multi has an impact for such effects? (i.e. requiring the reversal to indicate "completely reverse", like Divine Intervention).

Multi applies too to effects. Another example, Here.Comes the Cavalry vs a tag team. If they spin a carlito on the burn, it ends the effect there BUT the turn does not end since it was not completely reversed

Offline Tim (From SG)

  • Posts: 21
  • +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2018, 08:58:57 AM »
I see, thanks Nick. So that means the shuffle effect will still occur yeah? and the turn continues since its multi.

Offline niiiiick

  • Posts: 949
  • +16/-8
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2018, 02:11:47 PM »
No, the effect ends there. No shuffle, no draw, but the turn still continues

For reference:
http://teamcanadaonline.net///index.php/topic,16514.msg191641.html#msg191641

Offline Tim (From SG)

  • Posts: 21
  • +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2018, 01:22:41 AM »
Got it! Thanks so much Nick!

So just to ensure I'm getting this right.

For the same quoted scenario #2: "For #2: If the maneuver (same example, Back Throw) becomes multi and causes a burn effect (for e.g. when played by FBI, it is multi), does reversing the burn effect with Carlito/Douchebag end the turn as well? Thereby, skipping the damage phase, since the burn effect is reversed. Or multi has an impact for such effects? (i.e. requiring the reversal to indicate "completely reverse", like Divine Intervention)."

Main Point: If Carlito/Douchebag is overturned, it reverses the burn effect but does not end the turn since Back Throw becomes multi when played by FBI. The damage phase to overturn for the 8 damage is then applied. However if Divine is overturned, it completely reverses the burn effect and skips the damage phase.


Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10489
  • +317/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2018, 10:56:59 AM »
Correct, the Back Throw in that case would jump straight to dealing damage, and any reversal overturned for damage would be the second reversal to the Multi and finish reversing the card. Divine Intervention completely reverses the card, so there's no damage application, because the card has already been completely reversed.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Tim (From SG)

  • Posts: 21
  • +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: General Questions
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2018, 05:59:38 AM »
Cool. Thanks very much for the confirmation. Appreciate the clear explanation as always. Cheers! 8)