Author Topic: Panic assault versus backlash  (Read 206 times)

Offline The P6 Peep

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • +21/-39
  • "P6!"
    • View Profile
Panic assault versus backlash
« on: November 02, 2018, 08:33:15 PM »
If you play panic assault or grab or throw... can the second card played be reversed by the Backlash card?
« Last Edit: November 02, 2018, 08:52:58 PM by The P6 Peep »

- The P6 Peep



"Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!"

Offline darkdestiny91

  • Posts: 181
  • +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Panic assault versus backlash
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2018, 12:39:05 AM »
Yes. From the OmniFAQ:

-The Panic Maneuver is played first, and that allows the player to reveal a Maneuver from hand and play it.  There is no way to have any extra Maneuvers played with the Panic effect, apart from the one specified.  This is also important for card effects such as Turn the Tide and Turn Up the Heat; Benoit’s ability cannot grant a bonus to the Panic maneuver due to RMS, but it will give the accompanying maneuver +2D (or greater) if possible, since it is the second maneuver played.

Backlash! (SS3)
Mid-match Reversal: Special
Can only be played when your Fortitude Rating is less than your opponent's Fortitude Rating.
Reverse any Strike, Grapple, or Submission maneuver if it is not the first maneuver played this turn and end his turn.
F: 0   D: 3

According to the omniFAQ and Backlash's MRP, it should be able to be played against the second maneuver that is played using the Panic <grab, throw, assault> card's effect unless it has a reversal restriction of course

Offline Scotty

  • Posts: 2844
  • +51/-44
  • Backlash Podcast Co-host
    • View Profile
Re: Panic assault versus backlash
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2018, 05:01:37 AM »
There is one way to play Backlash...

from FAQ: -If a player plays a Panic Maneuver and the opponent has less Fortitude after playing a reversal or using a reversal effect for one of the Maneuvers, the second Maneuver is vulnerable to Backlash.  (This rare circumstance can happen if he uses a card such as Garbage Can Lid.)

I don’t think that applies to the scenario asked though.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2018, 05:09:09 AM by Scotty »

Offline The P6 Peep

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
  • +21/-39
  • "P6!"
    • View Profile
Re: Panic assault versus backlash
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2018, 08:50:46 AM »
From what I remember... The main reason you cannot play Backlash after the Panic cards, is because the attacker has to have lower fortitude than the opponent to play the Panic card to begin with, and until they resolve as both successful, the attacker continues to have lower fortitude, which makes it impossible since Backlash requires the defending opponent to have lower fortitude to play.... UNLESS something like I Know Who Pays My Salary's ACE was activated to temporarily give the attacker a false lower fortitude to engage the Panic card, which means the defending opponent still actually has lower fortitude and could play Backlash to the second manuever played after the Panic card.

- The P6 Peep



"Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!"

Offline The Kisser

  • Posts: 71
  • +0/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Panic assault versus backlash
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2018, 02:17:50 PM »
Yes. From the OmniFAQ:

-The Panic Maneuver is played first, and that allows the player to reveal a Maneuver from hand and play it.  There is no way to have any extra Maneuvers played with the Panic effect, apart from the one specified.  This is also important for card effects such as Turn the Tide and Turn Up the Heat; Benoit’s ability cannot grant a bonus to the Panic maneuver due to RMS, but it will give the accompanying maneuver +2D (or greater) if possible, since it is the second maneuver played.

Backlash! (SS3)
Mid-match Reversal: Special
Can only be played when your Fortitude Rating is less than your opponent's Fortitude Rating.
Reverse any Strike, Grapple, or Submission maneuver if it is not the first maneuver played this turn and end his turn.
F: 0   D: 3

According to the omniFAQ and Backlash's MRP, it should be able to be played against the second maneuver that is played using the Panic <grab, throw, assault> card's effect unless it has a reversal restriction of course



Correction: is no Backlash can not be played if the Panic (Assault/Hold/Throw) Move is played as the 1st maneuvar that turn as both the Panic Card is say like Girly Punch that's played w/ it as both are Considered to be the !st Move still as you have to add a F:0 Move from your hand so unless say you Shake somebody for 1D 1st and they don't have an ESCAPE MOVE and let you get that 1st off then yes! they can BACK-LASH you for 3D now that you have 0 fort to their 1F as I read the OmniFAQ and it's 1st sentence on the Panic Stuff was: "The player is technically playing both Maneuvers." So it's kinda like a Multi but 2 Cards with it. 

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10469
  • +316/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Panic assault versus backlash
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2018, 07:00:41 PM »
No, Kisser, you're wrong. Cards in Raw Deal cannot ever be played truly simultaneously. The Panic is played first, the accompanying maneuver is second. The FAQ confirms this multiple times, and all of the relevant entries are in this very thread.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.