Author Topic: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played  (Read 201 times)

Offline Keith0913832

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
  • +13/-3
  • Onward with the <R>evolution!
    • View Profile
Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« on: September 05, 2018, 11:37:56 PM »
Curious about this 2:
1. If Rest Hold was used to blank Kick non tb and i play another kick non tb, is it blank?

2. If rest hold blanked my kick non tb but that kick was moved from ring to ringside and then to Arsenal and I drew it, it's the same kick non tb, but is it blank as well?

Submission: Chain

Your opponent cannot play the card titled Over Sell Maneuver immediately after you play this card.

When successfully played, choose 1: put 1 Mid-match card from your Ringside pile into your Backlash deck, put 1 non-unique card from your opponent’s Ring area into his Ringside pile, or choose 1 non-Pre-match card in his Ring area and when this card is in your Ring area that card has blank text.

F: 0      D: 0

Offline dilbert505

  • Posts: 2332
  • +49/-42
  • The Prince of Insufficient Light
    • View Profile
Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 12:25:45 PM »
1) When a card is blanked by an opponent's effect, only that specific instance of the card is blank, unless the blanking effect is worded "your opponent's cards named "NAME OF CARD" are blank." If he blanks your Kick, your other Kick is perfectly normal.

2) Once the card leaves your Ring, for any reason, to any location, the Rest Hold essentially forgets that it was ever there. It would not be blank when you play it again. (IIRC, the reason for this is that the game has no way of tracking the card through non-public locations; once it ends up back in your Arsenal or Hand, your opponent cannot know that you're telling the truth when you say that's the same copy of the card, so the rules forcibly terminate the effect to ensure that it doesn't have to be tracked at all.)
« Last Edit: September 06, 2018, 12:29:29 PM by dilbert505 »
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10453
  • +316/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2018, 03:29:47 PM »
Dilbert is correct. This is called the Bookkeeping Rule.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Mitch!

  • 2014 & 2017 Raw Deal World Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5133
  • +241/-240
  • Welcome to....Dubuque, Iowa!
    • View Profile
Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2018, 04:27:52 PM »
Follow up, if you rest hold on Here Comes the Cavalry! against Second Coming and he plays a blank card and flips Cavalry over. Will it be blank if he attempts to play it again with his ability?
Mitch of Team Niki Heber and Friends
Only B2B's Deck to Ever Win Worlds!
The Heel HHH of Raw Deal
Your 2017 Raw Deal Champion

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10453
  • +316/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2018, 10:52:32 PM »
Attempting to play a card makes it leave the Ring. That trips the Bookkeeping Rule. It will not be blank.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Keith0913832

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
  • +13/-3
  • Onward with the <R>evolution!
    • View Profile
Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2018, 07:48:38 AM »
Well explained as usual! Thanks guys :)

Offline Mitch!

  • 2014 & 2017 Raw Deal World Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5133
  • +241/-240
  • Welcome to....Dubuque, Iowa!
    • View Profile
Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2018, 08:50:18 AM »
How do Heyman's stips stay blanked then when they move from ring and come back for something like Waist Lock? It would be leaving the ring as well to go the backstage area, I thought the situation with something in ring would be similar.

-If a Stipulation is blanked, then put into the Backstage Area by Heyman's ability, it will remain blanked, even if it is placed back into the Ring area later.
Mitch of Team Niki Heber and Friends
Only B2B's Deck to Ever Win Worlds!
The Heel HHH of Raw Deal
Your 2017 Raw Deal Champion

Offline MonkeyLord13

  • Posts: 97
  • +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2018, 08:14:17 AM »
When Heyman uses his ability, he just puts them into his ring or into his Backstage; he never plays them. Accordingly, his stipulations don't encounter step 1 of the timing in playing a card:
"1 Play the card.  Until the card is moved to another area, it is not in any area while resolving the Timing Breakdown."

So his stipulations are always either in his ring or Backstage.