Author Topic: Mental Acumen Omnifaq Entry  (Read 221 times)

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 648
  • +17/-4
    • View Profile
Mental Acumen Omnifaq Entry
« on: May 28, 2018, 11:57:33 AM »
Mental Acumen
-If this card and Backstage Politics are in the same Ring Area, the ACE of Acumen cannot be reversed.

Is this quote from Omnifaq a mistake? Because I'm not sure if a card that "cannot be reversed" will result in a "cannot be reversed" ACE.

Mental Acumen
Mid-match Action
Cannot be reversed when the card titled Backstage Politics is in your Ring area.
You may put 1 Face or Heel card from your Ringside pile on the bottom of your Arsenal.
When this card is in your Ring area, once during each of your turns, you may discard 1 Face or Heel card and search your Arsenal for 1 Face or Heel card, reveal it to your opponent, put it into your hand, and shuffle your Arsenal.

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 648
  • +17/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Mental Acumen Omnifaq Entry
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2018, 03:15:16 PM »
Just to add on to the above post, want to know if the interaction would be reflected in the situation for these 2 Edge cards:

Backed by the Edgeheads
Pre-match Event
Cannot be packed by Rated RKO.
Your Roll Out of the Ring and The Edge-ucation of Adam Copeland (which is now Permanent) cards cannot be reversed.
ACE: When you have lower Fortitude, when your opponent successfully plays a non-unique maneuver, you may remove this card from the game to blank the text and damage.  End his turn.

The Edgeucation of Adam Copeland
Mid-match Action
When this card is in your Ring area, once during each of your turns you may discard the card titled Roll Out of the Ring and remove the card titled Big Slide Into the Ring in your Ringside pile from the game, then draw up to 4 cards.

Will Edgeheads make an irreversible Adam Copeland's ACE irreversible as well?

Thanks for any replies.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10453
  • +316/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Mental Acumen Omnifaq Entry
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2018, 04:05:34 PM »
Nah, the OmniFAQ is in error there. Making a card irreversible has no bearing on its ACE.

The entry for Mental Acumen is just old. It was trying to be cute and say, "well, the text doesn't say that the CARD cannot be reversed, it just says 'cannot be reversed,' so...", but later rules revisions contradict that. That entry for Mental Acumen should be considered erroneous and redacted.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20967
  • +492/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Mental Acumen Omnifaq Entry
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2018, 04:08:41 PM »
As a footnote, after a decade of having the OmniFAQ locked up at comicimages.com, where we didn't want to bother it because someone might reference it there... it seems time to update a couple ancient relics that aren't accurate, or are misleading.

I just finished a massive Raw Deal project, so don't expect this soon, but I'll work with Daeva on updating a few things in the Omni in the not-to-distant future to remove old, out-of-date references/rulings.

CREED
VHS 3: Payback - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard