Author Topic: Irish Whip throwback and The Elevator Lift by Bobby Lashley  (Read 274 times)

Offline drjschell

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
  • +21/-38
  • "P6!"
    • View Profile
So the elevator lift for Bobby Lashley is a 30F grapple for him and it says "can only be played after successfully played action card" it also says that it's -25F played after the card titled Irish whip.

So if I discard 2 cards and activate the ACE on the Irish whip throwback, the ace is saying "once during each year turns, you may discard 2 cards and your next card played this turn is considered to be played after Irish Whip and after a setup card."

So the question is does that ACE activation constitute the elevator lift being played after a successfully played action card, since all forms of Irish whip are actions and Elevator Lift is now considered played after Irish Whip?

Here's the card text:

The Elevator Lift
Grapple + Grapple
Can only be played after a successfully played Action card.
This card is -25F when played after the card titled Irish Whip.
When successfully played, search your Arsenal for 1 Unique card, reveal it to your opponent, put it into your hand, and shuffle your Arsenal.
Unique
Multi
SV: 2
F: 30 D: 30

Irish Whip - Throwback
Mid-match Action
Your Lock, Stock, and Barrel maneuvers are blank.
During your turn when this card is in your Backlash, you may put it into your Ring.
During your turn when this card is in your Ringside, you may discard 2 cards and then put this card into your Backlash.
ACE: Once during each of your turns, you may discard 2 cards and then your next card played this turn is considered to be played after Irish Whip and after a Set-up card.
F: 0     D: 0     Unique
« Last Edit: May 06, 2018, 08:55:20 PM by drjschell »

- The P6 Peep



"Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!"

Offline dilbert505

  • Posts: 2330
  • +49/-42
  • The Prince of Insufficient Light
    • View Profile
Re: Irish Whip throwback and The Elevator Lift by Bobby Lashley
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2018, 09:27:58 PM »
This one's been alluded to before. http://teamcanadaonline.net///index.php/topic,13825.msg163934.html#msg163934
Quote from: Daeva
Quote
    Secondly,

    Throw Into the Corner Turnbuckle - Throwback
    Mid-match Action
    Your Lock, Stock, and Barrel maneuvers are blank.
    During your turn, when this card is in your Backlash, you may put it into your Ring.
    During your turn, when this card is in your Ringside, you may discard 2 cards and then put this card into your Backlash.
    ACE: Once during each of your turns, you may discard 2 cards and then your next card played this turn is considered to be played after Throw Into the Corner Turnbuckle and after a Set-up card.
    F: 0     D: 0     Unique

    Now, when you activate the effect of this card, are you able to play cards that can only be played after a successfully played card? E.g. precision sleeper, apply legal leverage etc.

No. Throw into the Corner Turnbuckle and Irish Whip TB only let you get past play requirements of their own titles and "after a Set-up card". Shane O'Mac can't use the ACE to throw any High Risk.

For the same reason, the ACE on Irish Whip TB doesn't work entirely the way you want. To play the Elevator Lift, you either need to successfully play Irish Whip (original or TB), or successfully play any Action. You can then activate the ACE, if you need the -25F, and if that's also successful, you can throw the Elevator Lift, but the ACE by itself is not a "successfully played Action card."
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.

Offline killercactus

  • Posts: 57
  • +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Irish Whip throwback and The Elevator Lift by Bobby Lashley
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2018, 05:36:09 AM »
If you play Irish Whip TB (actually play it, not just put it in your ring), would you even need to activate it in order to get the -25F?  Even without the ACE, that would work, correct?

Offline riothebeast

  • Posts: 242
  • +3/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Irish Whip throwback and The Elevator Lift by Bobby Lashley
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2018, 09:08:24 AM »
If you play Irish Whip TB (actually play it, not just put it in your ring), would you even need to activate it in order to get the -25F?  Even without the ACE, that would work, correct?

I cant see any reason it would not work. The only way that it wouldnt work is if they applied raw deal logic to the card. I mean its name is still irish whip and its an action.

Online CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20963
  • +492/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Irish Whip throwback and The Elevator Lift by Bobby Lashley
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2018, 09:25:39 AM »
Reminder: this is the Rules Forum, please stick to rules questions or official answers.  Opinions aren't welcome here, to prevent further confusion.

As stated, playing a card called Irish Whip satisfies the condition, yes.

CREED
VHS 3: Payback - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard