Author Topic: Andre's Giant Headbutt question  (Read 320 times)

Offline Mau-cho Man

  • Posts: 6
  • +0/-0
    • View Profile
Andre's Giant Headbutt question
« on: April 07, 2018, 09:54:07 PM »
Hi there, I recently discovered this game and I am working on building an Andre deck. Can "Giant Head Butt" be reversed by cards that can completely reverse a multi  (example: Get the F Out) or does it need 3 reversals no matter what? Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!

Giant Head Butt
Strike + Strike + Strike
This card requires 3 reversals to be reversed, instead of 2.
When successfully played, randomly discard 1 card. If that card’s Fortitude is an odd number, your opponent may search his Arsenal for 1 card, put it in his hand, and shuffle his Arsenal; if that card’s Fortitude has an even number, you may search your Arsenal for 1 card, put it in your hand, and shuffle your Arsenal.
Multi
Unique
SV: 2
F: 0 D: 10

Online dilbert505

  • Posts: 2326
  • +49/-42
  • The Prince of Insufficient Light
    • View Profile
Re: Andre's Giant Headbutt question
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2018, 10:06:57 PM »
There are two answers here, and it's contingent upon whether or not you have a certain other card in play.

As worded, a single Get the F Out will suffice to completely reverse Giant Head Butt. The text requiring 3 reversals instead of two only interacts with normal reversals; "completely" overrides that text.

However, if you are playing with Virtual cards, Andre has another card, released in Virtual 4, that impacts this situation.

Giant Eiffel Tower
Pre-match Event
When you hide We Face Each Other As God Intended, your opponent may remove this card from the game.
Ignore the word "completely" on all players' reversals and card effects.
Your maneuvers are +2D.
ACE: During your turn, you may put this card into your Ringside and then shuffle 8 cards from your Ringside into your Arsenal.
F: 0     D: 0     Unique     WWF Classic logo
V4

The text I bolded in that card reverses the situation. It essentially changes the wording of any card that includes the word completely, so that Get the F Out functionally reads like this:

Get the "F" Out!
Reversal: Special
Reverse any non-Trademark-Finisher Unique Maneuver card OR completely reverse any Multi card and end your opponent's turn.
F: 4      D: 0

With that text removed, Get the F Out will serve as one reversal to Giant Head Butt, rather than fulfilling the reversal condition entirely. (The same holds true for any reversal that does not have the Restricted Modification Symbol, like Once Is Enough.)
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.

Offline CRASHER

  • Posts: 4410
  • +86/-56
    • View Profile
Re: Andre's Giant Headbutt question
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2018, 04:54:04 AM »
also don't forget, he can play Restricted Use in This Area to use the single GtFO to reverse the Giant Head Butt Also, since restricted will wipe off the "ignore completely" restriction
*IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII* AM the Super Show 2017 Tag Team Champions!!!!!!

Offline Hogtrail

  • Posts: 326
  • +15/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Andre's Giant Headbutt question
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2018, 07:59:55 AM »
also don't forget, he can play Restricted Use in This Area to use the single GtFO to reverse the Giant Head Butt Also, since restricted will wipe off the "ignore completely" restriction

Is this confirmed? It reads like the maneuver isn't getting modified, but the reversal is. I may be wrong.
Please Like The Film Slobs on Facebook and Twitter!

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 648
  • +17/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Andre's Giant Headbutt question
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2018, 11:57:36 AM »
Hogtrail is right and Crasher is wrong.

The only way to not be affected by Giant Eiffel Tower is to add a RMS to your reversal, and the most usual case would be Frankie Takes Hollywood.

Offline The Kisser

  • Posts: 60
  • +0/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Andre's Giant Headbutt question
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2018, 02:10:52 AM »
It still takes 3 Once is Enough's, Get The F's Out, or anything that says "completely" on it cause of how The Giant's HEADUTT is worded.
Giant Head Butt
Strike + Strike + Strike
This card requires 3 reversals to be reversed, instead of 2.
When successfully played, randomly discard 1 card. If that card’s Fortitude is an odd number, your opponent may search his Arsenal for 1 card, put it in his hand, and shuffle his Arsenal; if that card’s Fortitude has an even number, you may search your Arsenal for 1 card, put it in your hand, and shuffle your Arsenal.
Multi
Unique
SV: 2
F: 0 D: 10

It's just like Chavo's 3 Amigos as it also does require 3 Reversals as well so it would be 3 Reversals need to be played for it to be reversed and end their Turn
So you play Get The F' Out from Hand that's 1 Reversal so then you would have to play 2 more.

Offline The Hurricane

  • The Holy Spirit of TCO
  • Posts: 9315
  • +103/-103
    • View Profile
Re: Andre's Giant Headbutt question
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2018, 02:24:46 AM »
It still takes 3 Once is Enough's, Get The F's Out, or anything that says "completely" on it cause of how The Giant's HEADUTT is worded.
Giant Head Butt
Strike + Strike + Strike
This card requires 3 reversals to be reversed, instead of 2.
When successfully played, randomly discard 1 card. If that card’s Fortitude is an odd number, your opponent may search his Arsenal for 1 card, put it in his hand, and shuffle his Arsenal; if that card’s Fortitude has an even number, you may search your Arsenal for 1 card, put it in your hand, and shuffle your Arsenal.
Multi
Unique
SV: 2
F: 0 D: 10

It's just like Chavo's 3 Amigos as it also does require 3 Reversals as well so it would be 3 Reversals need to be played for it to be reversed and end their Turn
So you play Get The F' Out from Hand that's 1 Reversal so then you would have to play 2 more.

You are wrong. When a card says it COMPLETELY reverses it, it overrides this. Unless of course it's like said above that Giant Eiffel Tower is in your ring. Giant Eiffel Tower then pretty much erases the word completely on ALL reversals.
The Hurricane
Yes I'm still here!

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20956
  • +492/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Andre's Giant Headbutt question
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2018, 07:15:59 AM »
Confirming Hurricane's answer.  Please do not post answers in the Rules Forum if you aren't sure, it's monitored by the person who wrote most of the OmniFAQ, and the Rules Manager for the last 10 years (Daeva).  Suffice to say we have it covered. ;)

And yes, doesn't matter if it takes 2, 3, 4 reversals to stop a Multi.  "Completely" covers all of that, if there's no other effects to change anything.

CREED
VHS 3: Payback - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard