Author Topic: The next set has the potential to be one of the biggest sets in the Virtual line  (Read 10616 times)

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20967
  • +492/-369
    • View Profile
Hmm, you make a good point.  Might as well spoil her now, since clearly NOBODY IS READY FOR ASUKA!



Note: Not shown in this image, but she's gaining the ability to pack Unique Multi maneuvers, since they still have to follow her pack restrictions.

CREED
« Last Edit: August 04, 2018, 06:05:38 PM by CreedP »
VHS 3: Payback - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline tutoman

  • Posts: 222
  • +12/-12
    • View Profile
That's a lot of restrictions on Asuka. I expect her support to make her a monster :D can't wait

Offline Eric RD

  • Posts: 2606
  • +16/-1
  • Backlash Podcast Co-host
    • View Profile
    • Backlash Podcast
These Superstar cards are looking great! Major props to the designers.
Backlash Podcast 27 - Foley is Good   https://youtu.be/iQjD4qyeNC8

Backlash Podcast - a Raw Deal podcast - available every other Tuesday on Apple Podcast, Stitcher and YouTube.
http://www.youtube.com/c/EricRDeal
https://www.facebook.com/Backlashpod/

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20967
  • +492/-369
    • View Profile
Thanks!  TimJR did some of of these before he 'retired' (Alexa and Ascension, especially), the others were mine.  This, for example, is one I did...



CREED
VHS 3: Payback - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline rachelmon

  • Posts: 457
  • +24/-21
  • woo woo woo, you know it!
    • View Profile
I am sitting here waiting for NAKAMURAAAAAAAAAAAA A

Offline Hogtrail

  • Posts: 327
  • +15/-3
    • View Profile
I am sitting here waiting for NAKAMURAAAAAAAAAAAA A

C'MOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNN N!!!!
Please Like The Film Slobs on Facebook and Twitter!

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20967
  • +492/-369
    • View Profile
Okay, but you better be wearing a cup!



Hmm, just had it pointed out that there should be a 'non-Multi' added to his ability, we'll fix that before release.

CREED
« Last Edit: August 04, 2018, 08:35:24 PM by CreedP »
VHS 3: Payback - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline rachelmon

  • Posts: 457
  • +24/-21
  • woo woo woo, you know it!
    • View Profile
NAKAMURA's ability is SIIIIIIICCCCCCCCCCC CCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

Offline rafzic

  • Posts: 91
  • +0/-4
    • View Profile
Wow Shinsuke has a very nice ability but I think we are missing one more.  I think he is in some sort of Club.  I guess you are saving the best for last.

Offline darkdestiny91

  • Posts: 169
  • +1/-1
    • View Profile
So, when I take a strike from Shinsuke and I decide to ACE Sustained Damage.

Do I:
1. take the reduced damage twice?
2. take the reduced damage once, then the full damage (which I can sustain again)?

eg. Shinsuke hits a Dirty Low Blow TB on me, I use SD to reduce the damage to 0 by discarding 1 card, do I take 0, then have to proc SD again for the next 2 damage or do I take 0 damage twice?

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20967
  • +492/-369
    • View Profile
When the lights go out... and the heartbeat sounds... who will emerge?

A guy in a leather jacket... or a demon...?



CREED
VHS 3: Payback - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline TimJR

  • Will Mod For Hugs
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2640
  • +117/-54
  • Basic Huganomics
    • View Profile
Man there is a certain melancholy in seeing the very last SS cards that I will have worked on.
Timothy J. Rush, Permanent Iowa City Raw Deal Champion
Member of Team Niki Heber and Friends

Offline niiiiick

  • Posts: 931
  • +16/-8
    • View Profile
Man there is a certain melancholy in seeing the very last SS cards that I will have worked on.

Gonna miss your art, Tim. Thanks for all you did

Offline TimJR

  • Will Mod For Hugs
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2640
  • +117/-54
  • Basic Huganomics
    • View Profile
Thanks - to be clear, a lot of these are Creed's handiwork. But that Ascension card was always one of my favorites that I made, and I'm so glad it's seeing 'print' :)
Timothy J. Rush, Permanent Iowa City Raw Deal Champion
Member of Team Niki Heber and Friends

Offline rachelmon

  • Posts: 457
  • +24/-21
  • woo woo woo, you know it!
    • View Profile
Not trying to be greedy.... but i really want to know if there is a NAKAMURA LOW BLOW specific support.  :) :) :) :)

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 648
  • +17/-4
    • View Profile
So, when I take a strike from Shinsuke and I decide to ACE Sustained Damage.

Do I:
1. take the reduced damage twice?
2. take the reduced damage once, then the full damage (which I can sustain again)?

eg. Shinsuke hits a Dirty Low Blow TB on me, I use SD to reduce the damage to 0 by discarding 1 card, do I take 0, then have to proc SD again for the next 2 damage or do I take 0 damage twice?

And if the maneuver is reversed from Arsenal while taking damage for the first time, will it apply damage again?

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20967
  • +492/-369
    • View Profile
Not trying to be greedy.... but i really want to know if there is a NAKAMURA LOW BLOW specific support.  :) :) :) :)
Then don't be greedy.  ;)

CREED
VHS 3: Payback - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline GamerZombie

  • Posts: 239
  • +8/-9
  • Road to Victory to draw a card!
    • View Profile
So, when I take a strike from Shinsuke and I decide to ACE Sustained Damage.

Do I:
1. take the reduced damage twice?
2. take the reduced damage once, then the full damage (which I can sustain again)?

eg. Shinsuke hits a Dirty Low Blow TB on me, I use SD to reduce the damage to 0 by discarding 1 card, do I take 0, then have to proc SD again for the next 2 damage or do I take 0 damage twice?

And if the maneuver is reversed from Arsenal while taking damage for the first time, will it apply damage again?

My guess is it’s similar to multi, however you don’t stop it with cards that say completely. I’m also wondering if it should say “successfully play” or if it works like panic moves.
-Collin Simon- (Guy with the Raw Deal sign at MiB 15')
--The Guardtower Raw Deal League Organizer--
---The Guardtower, Columbus Ohio

Offline lotjx

  • Posts: 214
  • +3/-19
    • View Profile
I love American Alphas having the Straps are down. I am not sure why Asuka has a ton of restrictions even if her ability is pretty good. I figured Chain Asuka would be a thing. I love these sets, but I hate waiting six months for them. I hope to play these cards if there is a tourney at Origins.

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 648
  • +17/-4
    • View Profile
I love American Alphas having the Straps are down. I am not sure why Asuka has a ton of restrictions even if her ability is pretty good. I figured Chain Asuka would be a thing. I love these sets, but I hate waiting six months for them. I hope to play these cards if there is a tourney at Origins.

Not sure if Asuka's ability work like Mickey James in the sense that if opponent has no hand, he will still get to draw a card as well.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10453
  • +316/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
So, when I take a strike from Shinsuke and I decide to ACE Sustained Damage.

Do I:
1. take the reduced damage twice?
2. take the reduced damage once, then the full damage (which I can sustain again)?

eg. Shinsuke hits a Dirty Low Blow TB on me, I use SD to reduce the damage to 0 by discarding 1 card, do I take 0, then have to proc SD again for the next 2 damage or do I take 0 damage twice?

Sustained Damage triggers immediately before you take damage. Nakamura makes two separate instances of the maneuver's damage, so you Sustain down each instance separately. (For the inevitable "which Damage level do I follow-up off of?" question: both; in practice, only the higher one will matter.)

Each instance of damage from Nakamura's Ability needs to be reversed separately from Arsenal; stopping the first from Arsenal doesn't negate the second. (Reversing either instance on the overturn will end the turn once both instances are dealt.)

Nakamura needs to signal that he intends to deal damage twice before his opponent gets a chance to reverse. If the opponent renders the card unsuccessful, it can't deal damage at all, and Nakamura's Ability is wasted (apart from the card cycling).

If Asuka's opponent's hand is completely empty when her maneuver is unsuccessful, the opponent will simply draw a card.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline darkdestiny91

  • Posts: 169
  • +1/-1
    • View Profile
So, when I take a strike from Shinsuke and I decide to ACE Sustained Damage.

Do I:
1. take the reduced damage twice?
2. take the reduced damage once, then the full damage (which I can sustain again)?

eg. Shinsuke hits a Dirty Low Blow TB on me, I use SD to reduce the damage to 0 by discarding 1 card, do I take 0, then have to proc SD again for the next 2 damage or do I take 0 damage twice?

Sustained Damage triggers immediately before you take damage. Nakamura makes two separate instances of the maneuver's damage, so you Sustain down each instance separately. (For the inevitable "which Damage level do I follow-up off of?" question: both; in practice, only the higher one will matter.)

Each instance of damage from Nakamura's Ability needs to be reversed separately from Arsenal; stopping the first from Arsenal doesn't negate the second. (Reversing either instance on the overturn will end the turn once both instances are dealt.)

Nakamura needs to signal that he intends to deal damage twice before his opponent gets a chance to reverse. If the opponent renders the card unsuccessful, it can't deal damage at all, and Nakamura's Ability is wasted (apart from the card cycling).

If Asuka's opponent's hand is completely empty when her maneuver is unsuccessful, the opponent will simply draw a card.

Thank you for clarifying this! V9 looks awesome so far! Can't wait for the support spoilers!!!

Offline Dizzy

  • Posts: 91
  • +1/-0
  • Igor's Mommy <3
    • View Profile
How does Shunsuke's ability work in regards to stun value? Say a beefed up DLB (original)
Pizza is life, pizza is love.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10453
  • +316/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Each instance of Damage triggers Stun separately.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline fadeaway

  • Posts: 104
  • +4/-0
    • View Profile
Regarding ascensions ability: Is overturning for card effect same as overturning for damage?