Author Topic: Dean's rebound lariat  (Read 580 times)

Offline Keith0913832

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • +14/-3
  • Onward with the <R>evolution!
    • View Profile
Dean's rebound lariat
« on: January 11, 2018, 04:59:59 AM »
Dean's Rebound Lariat
Strike: Heat
When played from hand, this card is -10F and +1 Stun Value.
When your maneuver is unsuccessful, you may immediately play this card.
When you have lower Fortitude or fewer cards in hand, this card cannot be reversed from hand or Backlash by non-Unique cards.
F: 22     D: 6     SV: 1     Unique
V8

1. I play kick
2. Opponent plays step aside
3. I play Dean rebound lariat
4. Opponent does not reverse, thus successful. Not reversed via overturn as well.

What happens after lariat successful and resolved? Does the turn end or can he skip the step aside's effect to end turn and continue turn?

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 653
  • +17/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Dean's rebound lariat
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 05:23:01 AM »
Dean's Rebound Lariat never state that your turn continues, the Step Aside end of turn effect will still take place after Dean's Rebound Lariat is resolved.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10484
  • +317/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Dean's rebound lariat
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 11:42:30 AM »
Debu is correct. The Rebound Lariat doesn't delete the end-the-turn effect, it just makes it hang while a card is resolving. Once nothing is resolving anymore, the end-the-turn effect will kick in and do what it says on the tin.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Keith0913832

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • +14/-3
  • Onward with the <R>evolution!
    • View Profile
Re: Dean's rebound lariat
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2018, 04:43:27 PM »
Noted on that. Thanks Debu for the reply and Daeva for the confirmation. Would like to follow up on the same scenario.


5a Targeted opponent may play a reversal card or generate a reversal effect. (If he plays a reversal card, that card will follow its own Timing Breakdown sequence.)
5b If you played a card with Multi, targeted opponent may play or generate a second reversal after the first reversal has completed all effects and damage.
5c If the card is completely reversed, the Timing Breakdown ends.

According to the step 5 of timing breakdown, do we resolve the card text and dmg first then proceed to rebound, or do we resolve rebound, then the text and dmg of the reversal.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10484
  • +317/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Dean's rebound lariat
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2018, 11:31:22 AM »
Playing Rebound Lariat is an outside effect to the reversal that completely reverses the maneuver that you played beforehand. Rebound Lariat has to fully resolve before the reversal's text and damage will apply. It is entirely possible to pin the opponent with a Rebound Lariat while a reversal whose damage can pin you waits its turn, in which case you'll win before the reversal damage would do anything.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Keith0913832

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • +14/-3
  • Onward with the <R>evolution!
    • View Profile
Re: Dean's rebound lariat
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2018, 07:28:01 AM »
Thanks for the clear explanation as always! :)