Author Topic: The Phenomenal One Qns  (Read 520 times)

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 700
  • +21/-4
    • View Profile
The Phenomenal One Qns
« on: December 30, 2017, 09:01:46 AM »
The Phenomenal One
Backstage Card
Your Pre-match Capacity is +1 for each AJ Styles-specific Pre-match card in your Ring, and your maneuvers with 1 printed Stun Value are +1 Stun Value.
Once during any turn, you may discard 1 card to play a card in your Ringside with 'kick' or 'lash' in the title as if from hand or Backlash; when the played card is Unique, discard 1 random card instead.
When you have lower Fortitude and play a maneuver from Ringside, reversals to it deal a maximum of 1D.

So is the "kick" or "lash" considered play from hand/backlash or ringside?

If it's considered play from hand, then wouldn't Phenomenal Dropkick always considered to be played from hand? Making the "when play from hand" text redundant.

Phenomenal Dropkick
High Risk
Can only be played after a successfully played card or as a Counter.
When played from hand, your opponent must discard 1 random card from his Backlash in order to play reversals to this card.
F: 0     D: 8      SV: 1     Unique

If it's considered play from Ringside, then does that mean that AJ Styles wouldn't have to discard 2 cards against chain maneuver for playing Backlash as a reversal from Ringside?

Thanks for any assistance.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2017, 09:08:14 AM by DebuRaito »

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 3 Judge, Old Man of the Mountain
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10734
  • +320/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: The Phenomenal One Qns
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2017, 07:09:14 PM »
The kick/lash is considered played from hand (or Backlash, where applicable). Phenomenal Dropkick's text will always trigger unless you find a way besides Phenomenal One to play it from Ringside that doesn't say "as if from hand."
Nate Weiss, Retired Dealer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.