Author Topic: Classic Teamwork question  (Read 368 times)

Offline rated SRH

  • Posts: 1954
  • +27/-15
  • NEVER DOUBT EL DANDY!!!!!
    • View Profile
Classic Teamwork question
« on: September 12, 2017, 11:15:19 AM »
Team X-Treme
Starting Hand Size: 7     Superstar Value: 3
Throwback Superstar Ability: Once during each of your turns, when you successfully play a High Risk, you may discard 1 card and then put up to 2 non-hybrid cards from your Ringside into your hand.
Your opponent can ignore 'cannot be reversed' effects on your maneuvers.
You can pack High-Flying Style, X-Treme Thongand Hardy Boyz, Matt Hardy, Jeff Hardy, and/or Lita maneuvers; your Spin Cycle and Poetry In Motion are blank. You cannot pack Corners orThere is No Escape.
You are a Stable and a Tag Team.
V8



Classic Teamwork
Mid-match Reversal: Special
Can only be packed by The People’s Team, The Dangerous Alliance or when your Superstar includes the text 'You are a Tag Team' or 'except the Tag Team title belts.'  Cannot be packed by Los Guerreros.
Reverse any non-Superstar-specific non-maneuver card or any Activated Card Effect, draw 2 cards and discard 1.
F: 4     D: 2     Unique



My question. Since its says you're a stable first in the ability does that prevent them from Classic Teamwork?
Chance Favors the Prepared Mind.

Top 8 at Gen Con 2014 Finished top 4 Gen Con 2015

25 Time Castle Comics Champion

Leader of the Raw Deal Main Event Mafia

Heisenberg of Raw Deal

Offline darkdestiny91

  • Posts: 98
  • +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2017, 06:23:11 PM »
I think as long as "You are a Tag Team" is still within the text so it's packable by Team X-treme

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20220
  • +479/-368
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2017, 06:33:41 PM »
Negative.  It's a direct quote within the marks, therefore the text has to match.

Note:  If you aren't sure, you don't need to reply in the Rules Forum.  This is for official answers, not opinions.  If you know the answer, go for it, even better if you can quote the FAQ or other relevant proof.  (Not singling you out, darkdestiny, but there's been more of this lately than usual, heh.)

Back to the original post - no, Classic Teamwork isn't available.  I'll try to check and see if it was intended, and if so, we'll flip that around later and fix it.

CREED
Virtual 8: Over the Limit (A) Sept. 1st (B) Oct 31st - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullar

Offline darkdestiny91

  • Posts: 98
  • +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 07:35:52 PM »
Negative.  It's a direct quote within the marks, therefore the text has to match.

Note:  If you aren't sure, you don't need to reply in the Rules Forum.  This is for official answers, not opinions.  If you know the answer, go for it, even better if you can quote the FAQ or other relevant proof.  (Not singling you out, darkdestiny, but there's been more of this lately than usual, heh.)

Back to the original post - no, Classic Teamwork isn't available.  I'll try to check and see if it was intended, and if so, we'll flip that around later and fix it.

CREED

No problem, just thought I had it this time! Sorry about the confusion. Hope to find out if it was intended too.

Offline COMICDUDE1938

  • Posts: 73
  • +1/-1
  • It's time for Wrestlewar
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2017, 10:11:11 PM »
by this logic, I wonder about the NATION.... can they pack Double Team (TB), since they are a Tag Team Superstar as well as Stable? OR do them require being deemed specifically by "TAG TEAM SUPERSTAR ABILITY"?

Nation Of Domination
Starting Hand Size: 6     Superstar Value: 4
Stable Superstar Ability: When your opponent's card or card effect moves cards from his Ringside to his Arsenal, you may shuffle the same number of non-reversal cards -1 from your Ringside into your Arsenal.
Your By Any Means Necessary cards are not Cheater, they are now Superstar-specific, and replace 'Cheater' with 'Superstar-specific' in the text.
You can pack Do You Smell What The Rock is Cookin'?, Dominator, Godfather Pimp Drop, and The World's Strongest Bear Hug. You cannot pack Corners or Factions. You are a Tag Team.
V8


Double Team – Throwback
Strike + Grapple
Can only be packed by a Tag Team Superstar or if your Ability has "Title Belts" in the text.
When played, choose 2 of the following: Strike, Grapple, Submission, or High Risk.  This maneuver is now the chosen types instead for the rest of the turn.
F: 6     D: 8     SV: 2     Unique     Multi
Ahh...Hell...NO

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20220
  • +479/-368
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2017, 11:59:15 PM »
Double Team doesn't ask for specific text, only that the Superstar is a Tag Team.  Much like saying 'You are a Diva' is the same as one with a 'Diva Superstar Ability'.

Difference is that Classic has a very specific text requirement in quotation marks, Total just says 'be a Tag Team'.

CREED
Virtual 8: Over the Limit (A) Sept. 1st (B) Oct 31st - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullar

Offline darkdestiny91

  • Posts: 98
  • +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2017, 10:15:06 AM »
Double Team doesn't ask for specific text, only that the Superstar is a Tag Team.  Much like saying 'You are a Diva' is the same as one with a 'Diva Superstar Ability'.

Difference is that Classic has a very specific text requirement in quotation marks, Total just says 'be a Tag Team'.

CREED

So, Team X-treme can pack Total Teamwork and Classic Teamwork?

Offline dilbert505

  • Posts: 2158
  • +46/-41
  • The Prince of Insufficient Light
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2017, 10:35:21 AM »
Double Team doesn't ask for specific text, only that the Superstar is a Tag Team.  Much like saying 'You are a Diva' is the same as one with a 'Diva Superstar Ability'.

Difference is that Classic has a very specific text requirement in quotation marks, Total just says 'be a Tag Team'.

CREED

So, Team X-treme can pack Total Teamwork and Classic Teamwork?

No. Team X-Treme can pack Total Teamwork, but as Creed specified above, they cannot pack Classic Teamwork, because "You are X and a Tag Team" is not the same text as "You are a Tag Team."
Universally Recognized as a Mature and Responsible Adult.

Playing on Lackey? I'm on US Eastern Time; you can check what time it is for me here.

Offline darkdestiny91

  • Posts: 98
  • +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2017, 06:52:18 PM »
Double Team doesn't ask for specific text, only that the Superstar is a Tag Team.  Much like saying 'You are a Diva' is the same as one with a 'Diva Superstar Ability'.

Difference is that Classic has a very specific text requirement in quotation marks, Total just says 'be a Tag Team'.

CREED

So, Team X-treme can pack Total Teamwork and Classic Teamwork?

No. Team X-Treme can pack Total Teamwork, but as Creed specified above, they cannot pack Classic Teamwork, because "You are X and a Tag Team" is not the same text as "You are a Tag Team."

Ah ok

Offline COMICDUDE1938

  • Posts: 73
  • +1/-1
  • It's time for Wrestlewar
    • View Profile
Re: Classic Teamwork question
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2017, 03:20:00 PM »
thank you for the clarification fellas.... I know how tired u get of answering the same questions
Ahh...Hell...NO