Author Topic: Ken Shamrock cards qns  (Read 594 times)

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 702
  • +21/-4
    • View Profile
Ken Shamrock cards qns
« on: September 03, 2017, 04:23:27 AM »
KEN SHAMROCK
Starting Hand Size: 7     Superstar Value: 3
Superstar Ability: When you have 30- cards in your Arsenal, your first maneuver played each turn without 'reversed' in the text is Multi and +4D.
When your maneuver played from hand is unsuccessful, you may overturn 3 cards and put the maneuver into hand instead; when that maneuver has 'shoot' or 'Shamrock' in the title, put up to 1 non-reversal card from your Ringside on the bottom of your Arsenal.
You can pack No Sell Maneuver and Mixed Martial Arts Specialist.

Since the bold line is separated by a semi-colon, does that mean that Shamrock can do the recovery without burning 3 to keep the maneuver in his hand?

He's About to SNAP!
Action + Action
Search your Arsenal for up to 6 cards (when you have lower Fortitude, up to 10 cards instead) and put them under this card, then draw up to 4 cards.
During your turn when this card is in your Ring, you may remove it from the game.
When this card is moved from your Ring, shuffle all cards under it and up to 2 other cards removed from the game into your Arsenal.

F: 10     D: 0     Unique     Multi

Since the last 2 line is separated as 2 paragraphs, does that mean it was intentionally done so to avoid it being an ACE?

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 2130
  • +77/-70
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Re: Ken Shamrock cards qns
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2017, 05:33:08 AM »
1.) No.

2.) Yes.
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 21622
  • +494/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Ken Shamrock cards qns
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2017, 08:46:22 AM »
2 is actually 'no', because the last sentence can be used if your opponent moves the card from your Ring.

CREED
"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 702
  • +21/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Ken Shamrock cards qns
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2017, 09:47:12 AM »
2 is actually 'no', because the last sentence can be used if your opponent moves the card from your Ring.

CREED

So what you are saying is, if Shamrock removed it himself, it's still susceptible to ACE reversals?

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 21622
  • +494/-369
    • View Profile
Re: Ken Shamrock cards qns
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2017, 09:49:32 AM »
What???

That isn't even CLOSE to what I said.  Please re-read that, and re-read it again if you need to.

Also, please don't put words in my mouth.  You asked what the INTENT was, and you got an answer.  Assuming there's an ACE effect there is on you.  If it was an ACE, we'd put an ACE indicator and logo for clarity.

CREED
"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullard

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 3 Judge, Old Man of the Mountain
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10744
  • +320/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Ken Shamrock cards qns
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2017, 12:53:30 PM »
Remember: all ACEs have a cost and an effect. If it doesn't have both, it's not an ACE. "You can put this card into your Ringside" is just an effect, it doesn't have a cost, so it's not an ACE.

The recovery bit works if your opponent moves SNAP or if you move SNAP. It's flexible that way. Still not an ACE, because there's no cost. It's a triggered effect.
Nate Weiss, Retired Dealer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.