Author Topic: Couple of Paige questions  (Read 505 times)

Offline drjschell

  • Posts: 263
  • +16/-37
  • "P6!"
    • View Profile
Couple of Paige questions
« on: April 05, 2017, 10:39:52 PM »
So on her Superstar Ability:

When you overturn cards for the NXT Breakout Star, choose one: put 1 non-unique, non-hybrid maneuver overturned into your hand, or put up to 1 non-reversal card from your ringside on the bottom of your Arsenal.

NXT Breakout Star:

Once during each of your turns, you may overturn 4 cards and then draw 1 card;

So.... my question is, if you overturn the appropriate cards for NXT Breakout Star... does Paige's ability kick in at that momemt, allowing you to choose from her two options, in lieu of the 1 card draw from NXT Breakout Star?.... or do you get to engage Paige's 2 options PLUS get the 1 card draw from NXT Breakout Star?

- The P6 Peep



"Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance!"

Offline Mitch!

  • 2014 & 2017 Raw Deal World Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4953
  • +240/-240
  • Welcome to....Dubuque, Iowa!
    • View Profile
Re: Couple of Paige questions
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 11:29:54 PM »
You would Overturn 4(Ability Triggers) and then draw 1 card.
Mitch of Team Niki Heber and Friends
Only B2B's Deck to Ever Win Worlds!
The Heel HHH of Raw Deal
Your 2017 Raw Deal Champion

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10193
  • +311/-213
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Couple of Paige questions
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2017, 11:00:57 AM »
Confirmed, Paige's Ability trigger does not replace the draw from Breakout Star.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1862
  • +75/-67
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Re: Couple of Paige questions
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2017, 11:11:33 AM »
Just to clarify:

Can I drop more than one copy of:

#031/643 Judo Takedown (V2)
Grapple
When this card is in your hand, if your opponent moves any number of cards from your Ring area, you may immediately put this card into your Ring area.
Permanent
F: 0      D: 4

If my opponent chooses to remove:

The Diva of Tomorrow
Pre-match Event
Cannot be blanked. When packing this card, you cannot pack Technical Drop Kick.
ACE: Once during each of your turns, you may reveal 1 card with 'kick' in the title in your hand and put it on the bottom of your Arsenal, and then your opponent reveals his hand; choose 1 card, he puts the chosen card on the bottom of his Arsenal.
During his turn, he may reveal 1 reversal from his hand with equal or lower Fortitude than his Fortitude Rating and put it at the bottom of his Arsenal, and then you put this card into your Ringside.
F: 0     D: 0     Unique     Permanent     NXT logo
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline CreedP

  • Voice of Reason
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 20299
  • +479/-368
    • View Profile
Re: Couple of Paige questions
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2017, 11:12:16 AM »
You can't use any Judos here, it says 'you put this card into your Ringside', not your opponent.

CREED
Virtual 8: Over the Limit (A) Sept. 1st (B) Oct 31st - Out Now!

"Opinion is really the lowest form of human knowledge. It requires no accountability, no understanding. The highest form of knowledge is empathy, for it requires us to suspend our egos and live in another’s world." - Bill Bullar

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1862
  • +75/-67
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Re: Couple of Paige questions
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2017, 11:13:00 AM »
You can't use any Judos here, it says 'you put this card into your Ringside', not your opponent.

CREED

Well there goes my lame idea.
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline Drywall

  • TCO Donor
  • ****
  • Posts: 1862
  • +75/-67
  • 16-bit romantic, proprietor of Geek Street.
    • View Profile
Re: Couple of Paige questions
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2017, 10:54:33 AM »
Sorry for the necro but I just now remembered why I asked the question about Judo Takedown and Diva of Tomorrow. I found a PM that gave me a different answer:

No, Heenan Family doesn't make your reversals psuedo-Permanent.

Yes, you can put in Judo Takedowns if your Diva of Tomorrow gets killed.

Can you start posting these in the Rules Forum?

I'm not trying to challenge anyone, just wondering what the definitive answer is. Thanks in advance!
I'm the wind, baby.

Offline TimJR

  • Will Mod For Hugs
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2531
  • +113/-53
  • Basic Huganomics
    • View Profile
Re: Couple of Paige questions
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 11:03:24 AM »
PMs are never a location for official rulings.

Nate was mistaken there - Diva of Tomorrow is a 'you move this card' effect, not triggering Judo Takedown.
Timothy J. Rush, Permanent Iowa City Raw Deal Champion
Member of Team Niki Heber and Friends

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10193
  • +311/-213
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: Couple of Paige questions
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2017, 05:23:37 PM »
Tim is correct, Past Me was looking at a different version of the card. Diva of Tomorrow doesn't trigger Judo Takedown.
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.