Author Topic: <R> BoD's Ability  (Read 697 times)

Offline DebuRaito

  • Posts: 676
  • +21/-4
    • View Profile
<R> BoD's Ability
« on: March 19, 2017, 01:48:42 PM »
Revolution Brothers of Destruction
Starting Hand Size: 6     Superstar Value: 7
Tag Team Superstar Ability: When you would discard any number of cards, you may instead overturn twice that many cards.
You can pack Kane and Undertaker Revolution maneuvers; you cannot pack Corners.

Hi, I would like to know if BoD's replacement ability (overturn instead of discard) works similarly to EnC's ability? As in do they have to reveal the card they intend to discard before replacing it with overturning? Since certain card would require you to discard a specific type of card (non-hybrid reversal, antic etc)

And would they need to have the required amount of cards in hand to discard before replacing it? (E.g. Retrieving Spinning Drop Kick with no cards in hand)

Thank you for any assistance provided.

Offline rachelmon

  • Posts: 519
  • +27/-21
  • Ryder-Lynch-Mahal
    • View Profile
Re: <R> BoD's Ability
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2017, 07:25:41 PM »
I believe it works like EnC ability, but I am not sure.
Dear Admins, for your clarification.

Offline Daeva

  • Virtual Contributor, Level 4 Judge, Hope Ender
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10703
  • +319/-214
  • On Balance, Off Balance, Doesn't Matter
    • View Profile
Re: <R> BoD's Ability
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2017, 09:56:02 AM »
<R> BoD's Ability doesn't quite work like Edge & Christian's. E&C's Ability received errata to force a reveal, it's not a global rule about replacement events.

Re: discarding specific types of cards: both the hand and Backlash are not public knowledge zones. There is no burden of proof when BoD uses their replacement ability. If something asks you to discard a specific type of card and you fulfill that discard with overturning, the card is satisfied. So <R> BoD can play This Is Going Nowhere Fast and overturn 4 cards instead of discarding 2 non-hybrid reversals. The number of non-hybrid reversals in their hand isn't relevant, because the hand isn't a public knowledge zone and there's no burden of proof.

Re: initiating a discard effect: the number of cards in your hand IS public knowledge, so you can't initiate a generic discard effect (like discarding 2 to pick up Shoot Headlock) without having at least that many cards in hand. (Note that you can replace the discard with overturn on Shoot Headlock, despite its RMS. Replacement effects don't modify any cards.) So, to touch on our earlier example, BoD couldn't play This Is Going Nowhere Fast with only 1 card in hand, because there's no way that they could possibly meet the play requirement.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2017, 09:59:14 AM by Daeva »
Nate Weiss, Rules Manager & Dream Killer
"You're no fun." -Creed
Timing question? Look here.
Evidence is everything in a court of law. Evidence is also everything in the Rules Forum.