Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
1
1.)  How viable is this superstar?
Elijah Burke has a good ability for pumping hand and recovery. But that is about it because he packs the depth in his other cards that could have pulled him up.
 
2.)  Is there a Superstar Specific Card that you'd like to spotlight? 
His ability is his best asset, all others are negligible. A worthy card to mention would be his Pre-match that you could build your deck around with.

3.)  How have you built said superstar?  How did it work out?
His ability doesn't lean towards anything so it's very general. You could go with either ring Psychology Leg to pick up maneuvers, while chucking the leftover reversals or unwanted legs below your Arsenal to get a higher chance of getting the card if ruckus is in play.
Another way would be to capitalise on his Pre-match by making all his means colossals. Outmaneuver is the most basic extreme reversal but that doesn't reverse colossals. So you would want to go with NON-extreme cores to build up fort to hit in colossals. Catching him in between 3 to 6f when you hit those colossals would mean he can't use slow the match to a crawl OR I won't be beat tonight.
The 3rd way of playing would be to make use of his 'put up to 1 card from Ringside at the bottom of your arsenal'. There are a bunch of cores that allow you to search for the same target or a different maneuver type. Use your ability to your advantage by recovering maneuvers thst you can search for. Lure thst hit like a girl out early in the game and you can keep searching your way to victory!

4.)  How well does the Superstar fare in whichever format you built them in be it VC/VAA/NXT/VR/Non-Virtual
His ability works well in all formats. In fact, it's even better than the Rock! But beyond that, it's up to individual preference to play depending on which format.

5.)  Final Thoughts on this Superstar?
Amazing ability for all formats, but a little disappointing on his support.

AND

6.) Since this Superstar is a Legacy one (in that he was in the game before Virtual) can you elaborate a little on how Virtual has changed this Superstar?
As stated above, his pre match can determine the build of the deck, but not entirely necessary.
2
But the modification is on the BSITC... wouldn't it like bionic elbow where the maneuver self plunges the fort and opponent may not have chance to play fort surge?
3
Lackey Tournaments / Re: TCO Lackey Tournament #12!
« Last post by riothebeast on January 21, 2018, 09:40:31 PM »
John p pm me to setup.
4
Rules Forum / Re: "Restricted Use in this Area" versus "Big Splash in the Corner"
« Last post by CRASHER on January 21, 2018, 08:37:37 PM »
Correct, Restricted Use no longer makes the big splash played after throw, so the plunge condition doesn't happen, if it was played after the actual set-up card it would have no effect, but yes Restricted wipes away the effect from an activated card effect, just like it would wipe off the protection from "This is gonna be a rocket buster" or "the title's on the line"
5
Rules Forum / "Restricted Use in this Area" versus "Big Splash in the Corner"
« Last post by drjschell on January 21, 2018, 08:31:43 PM »
So I think this boils down to a timing question, but after reading the OMNI for 30 minutes on timing and the RESTRICTED USE IN THIS AREA (RUITA) errata, I need some help. Please tell me what you think:

OPPONENT 1 : On his turn, discards 2 cards to engage the ACE on THROWN INTO THE CORNER TURNBUCKLE TB, which states, "Once during each of your turns, you may discard 2 cards and then your next card played this turn is considered to be played after THROWN INTO THE CORNER TURNBUCKLE (TITCT)"

OPPONENT 2 : Cannot reverse the ACE

OPPONENT 1 : Plays 6F/10D BIG SPLASH IN THE CORNER TB(BSITC), which says, "Can only be played after the card titled TITCT", and says, "When played after the card titled TITCT, this card is +5D and your opponent's Reversal cards to this card are +8F"

OPPONENT 2 : Has only 4 Fortitude, but responds with 0F/0D RESTRICTED USE IN THIS AREA (RUITA), which says, "Can only be played after your opponent plays a card that he has modified by other cards.", and says, "Disregard all modifications made to that card by other cards until the end of the turn.", and says, "You may still play Reversal cards to that card."

RUITA has an RMS symbol and therefore is not subject to the +8F plunge.... so, Opponent 2 argues that while the BSITC was legally played by satisfying it's requirement of having TITCT played in front of it at the moment it was played.... the RUITA now ignores (disregards) that TITCT was ever played for the rest of the turn, SO... The BSITC no longer has the +5D or +8F plunge moving forward.

As a result, OPPONENT 2 discards 2 cards for Chain effect and plays 3F/5D BRASS "NUKS" SHOT, which says, "As a reversal, reverse any High Risk and end your opponent's turn".. and he ends OPPONENT 1's turn




Now.... Do you guys agree with this interpretation of the timing and was it a legal play?
6
Lackey Tournaments / Re: TCO Lackey Tournament #12!
« Last post by CRASHER on January 21, 2018, 06:37:33 PM »
Round 2....BEGIN!!!!!! (hopefully Dilbert gets his PC done in time:


Round 2:
Brian vs tutoman
Me vs Drywall
Heldacarite vs Jokerfish
Mitch vs Shelan
Lawnmower Man vs niiiiccccckkkkk
imc2002 vs lotjx
Lou vs Rumpel
skudz vs matthardynotdie
John P vs RIOthebeast
Dilbert gets the bye (and a closer to home computer guy  :laugh: )

y'all got till Feb 5......do it for Big E!!!!!
7
HA!  That's hilarious!

Honestly, I never knew he was on the balcony, usually I try to inch forward into the big room just enough to spawn enemies, and fight them out on the ledge.  You can wipe out a lot of the henchmen that way, and often whittle it down to the final boss before actually going into the final area.

CREED
8
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: Strowman versus Lesnar
« Last post by drjschell on January 21, 2018, 04:13:15 PM »
"Strowman completely ignores Brock's Ability. Saying that you can't do a thing trumps text that lets you do the thing, in all cases, unless the text that does the thing specifically says that it isn't affected by things."

lol, thats a mouthful

Well thanks for the definitive explanation Daeva  :police:

PS... I hate you Braun Strowman!!!
9
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: Strowman versus Lesnar
« Last post by Daeva on January 21, 2018, 03:56:24 PM »
Strowman completely ignores Brock's Ability. Saying that you can't do a thing trumps text that lets you do the thing, in all cases, unless the text that does the thing specifically says that it isn't affected by things.

There is also no general rule that Abilities rule the roost and trump everything else. Brock's Ability doesn't negate the RMS and reduce the damage on Atomic Lariat, for example, for the same reasoning above: "you can't modify me" beats any attempt at a modification, unless that modification specifically says that it works regardless of the effect that blocks it. (We generally don't try to trump the RMS, because that gets into weird situations.)

TL;DR: "Can't" > "can".
10
Rules Forum / Re: Revolution of the Mind
« Last post by Daeva on January 21, 2018, 03:49:09 PM »
An Ability would have to specifically say that it overrides a pack restriction on a card to allow you to ignore that restriction. "You can pack No Sell Maneuver" specifically overrides the restriction on No Sell that says who can pack it, and nothing else.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10