Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - MonkeyLord13

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6
51
Is that how Extreme Warfare interacts with Maintain Hold? Per it's text, the played maneuver is just applying damage/card effects, not actually being played again on subsequent turns.

It's still a brutal card to maintain, but I'm not sure if, once maintained, it still can only be reversed from arsenal.

52
Virtual Deck Reviews / Re: Eddie Guerrero
« on: May 16, 2019, 07:52:43 AM »
Since you're using Technical Stomp and Technical Splash in the Corner, did you consider packing A Technical Shoot and Shoot Counter?

53
The edited version is to appeal to Rey. You start with it revealed, and the first thing you do is pop it and play Springboard (since that's -5F due to your ability, -6 with this in play) whose can only be played after text you're ignoring. And since using that effect removes it from your Backstage, it should never actually be in your backstage when your ability is relevant.

54
Cosplay Ring Attire
Backstage Card
You may reveal this card when any player puts a Pay Per View card in their ring, or when you reveal The Demon Arrives.
All numbers in your Superstar Ability are +1 (this card does not modify Abilities that affect the Fortitude of your Maneuvers). When you Promo, you may choose to hide this card to add an additional +1 to that Promo effect.
When this card is hidden, and there is a Pay Per View card in any player's Ring, or The Demon Arrives is in your Ring, you may discard 1 card to reveal this card.

Just realized I foolishly forgot to give Rey some love with this card!

Edit:
Cosplay Ring Attire (Alexa Bliss, Finn Balor, Johnny Gargano, and Rey Mysterio logos)
Backstage Card
You may reveal this card when any player puts a Pay Per View card in their ring, or when you reveal The Demon Arrives.
All numbers in your Superstar Ability are +1 (this card does not modify Abilities that affect the Fortitude of your Maneuvers). When you Promo, you may choose to hide this card to add an additional +1 to that Promo effect.
When this card is hidden, and there is a Pay Per View card in any player's Ring, or The Demon Arrives is in your Ring, you may discard 1 card to reveal this card.
When this card is revealed, during your turn you may remove it from the game, and if your next card played is Springboard, you may ignore its "can only be played after..." text.

55
Fantasy Cards / Re: The Lord of Darkness
« on: April 30, 2019, 09:35:42 AM »
Quote
The Power of Darkness TB
Backstage Card
During your opponent’s turn, after Damage have been applied, Promo: 2 and then shuffle 1 card from your Ringside into your Arsenal. If you do not, remove 1 card from your Ringside. Your maneuvers are +1D and your opponent’s Reversals to your non-reversal cards +1F for each card removed from the game in this way.
Unique     RMS

I think this one is too unwieldy. For one thing, I don't see how the card text gives you the opportunity to ever remove cards from the game. You need to make something in there optional, either the entire Promo: 2 and recursion, or just the recursion. As written, the whole thing is mandatory, never letting you get at the fuel for the third part.

For another, this would essentially require you to have two different "removed from the game" stacks: one for this effect, one for all other cards removed from the game. Especially if the intention is to still show the cards removed by this to be recovered back into the game.  I think it would be substantially easier for bookkeeping to have the cards moved from it's effect go under the Power of Darkness itself (or even just into his backstage area). That would require either that you give another effect to get them out of the backstage, or to just accept the permanent loss of those cards as payment for the standing effect.

The Superstar deck restrictions should probably also be cleaned up so that it says "When you are packing cards that only have one of those logos, you cannot pack cards that only have another of those logos", so that it's clear that you're choosing between Undertaker, Deadman, or Phenom.

56
Sorry for being late. But if nidia ability says you can't pack maneuver of 4D and greater. So does divas overload! Somehow not legal to pack?

The text of Divas Overload! says it can be packed by any Diva, regardless of their Superstar ability, so it gets around her normal maneuver restriction.

57
Perfect! Thanks again!

58
Nice write-up! I've got a question, though, because I think I'm forgetting  some cards, or missing interactions:

 "You play this after a Spit at Opponent, and the net result is you discard 3 and opponent DISCARDS 10! Or how about Who Booked This Match? You draw a net of 6 and he discards a net of 6!" can you run me through the math that gets the numbers this high? Because I'm calculating Spit as forcing a 6 card discard, and WBTM as doing 4 apiece.

And I'm happy to see you mention the Grab Mark's Chair/Reverse 180 combo. I've used it in decks before, but getting to 5F was often a requirement. I hadn't thought of using it with Sandow!

Thanks!

59
If Boss and Huh ultimately gets their own set, please, please just call them Superstar "Bayley and Sasha", or similar, and keep "Boss and Hug" as a prematch or backstage card. I can't stand it as their team name. XD

60
Rules Forum / Origins 2013
« on: March 25, 2019, 07:45:03 AM »
Pertinent text: "This card is also considered Origins 2005 for your card effects."

Does this text interact with effects like No More Cheap Pops' "When played at Columbus, OH at Origins, he discards 1 card."?

Or is it (at this time), only effective for The Flannel Shirt? (that being the only other card I find in Lackey that has "Origins 2005" in its text.  I assume it's this latter answer, given that the text on No More Cheap Pops is so much more specific than that on Flannel Shirt.

Thanks!

61
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: December 23, 2018, 05:53:28 AM »
So for The Demon Arrives, even though it says I MUST move a card in my ring I can op out of that and just randomly remove 3 cards from the game?

So I'm not 100% on this, but I believe that because it says MUST you truly must, you cannot simply opt out. The bit about randomly removing 3 cards is probably there in case you've run out of cards in your ring, or every card in your ring is permanent and cannot be removed for its effect. Because without that, you could probably run an interesting build that used a lot of permanent cards to try and avoid the otherwise mandatory effect. I'm not necessarily seeing where that would become abusive, but, of course, I haven't tried to build him to exploit it since the way the card is written has precluded that kind of build.

62
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: December 22, 2018, 09:34:52 AM »
Wow, the Visage is gorgeous. All of the cards on this set have been looking great, Finn is getting some really striking ones.

63
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: December 22, 2018, 07:26:42 AM »
When choosing a card to move from your opponents ring is it the entire number of cards you have removed from the game or just the 2+ you happened to move from under your Superstar card at the time?

The second one: just the number of cards you moved on that activation. The verbage is "you removed", referring back to paying the cost of the effect. If it we're counting the total number of cards removed from the game, it would have been written as "where # is the total number of your cards removed from the game."

64
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: December 16, 2018, 07:59:19 AM »
My fatal flaw as a card game player is my inability to read the cards in their entirety.

Back before I knew about TCO, my playgroup made fantasy cards for each of us. One of my cards allowed me to ignore a sentence in a card for this exact reason.

65
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: December 16, 2018, 07:13:06 AM »

So does this mean on the non-maneuver thing the non-Maneuver doesn't have to be Successful for him to get the bonus Crud on "The Man Gravity Forgot" or what as that seems kinda crappy on that by oh lookee I reversed your Recovery and now I can get Free Bonuses as I think it should be if your Opponent successfully played a non-maneuver on their turn then you get the bonuses.

Counter-point: that means even if Neville has plenty of F and doesn't need the discount, the maneuver still qualifies for being reversed by Your Reach Exceeds Your Grasp (unless it was an RMS maneuver).

66
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: December 14, 2018, 09:16:41 AM »
Bo is looking like a ton of fun. He and The Ascension have me thinking up a fantasy card for those NXT who got called up and were completely squandered.

67
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: December 08, 2018, 08:11:00 AM »
I am really looking forward to playing Alexa. This is yet another set that is an absolute embarrassment of riches. Too much good stuff already. I also appreciate her breathing new life into non-TB Chokehold, which was a mainstay of many of my early decks.

68
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: November 28, 2018, 07:16:25 AM »
... (with one exception, Ascension is kind of a promo Superstar, and has a smaller set.) ...

CREED

Oh now I'm super intrigued. I really liked the look of them based off their Superstar card, but did not of them as a promo Superstar. Hype-train, depart!

69
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 30 Days of Raw Deal Christmas
« on: November 27, 2018, 08:56:02 AM »
Hooray Blue Pants! Absolutely loving the Vaudevillians so far!

70
Classic Raw Deal / Re: thankful for RDPC
« on: November 23, 2018, 06:03:06 AM »
Hear, hear! Especially in the face of those of us who are ungrateful, thank you to the whole team for all of your hard work and sacrifice in continuing to improve this wonderful game!

71
Since the SS3 version is MRP, you have to follow that text. However, reviewing it, I don't see any real differences except that the new version also looks for Spinebuster for determining whether you can play it.

To be clear, you are still allowed to pack and play this original version, you just have to treat it and obey the MRP version of the text.

72
Classic Deck Reviews / Re: Rey Mysterio Deck List Help
« on: October 20, 2018, 03:20:10 PM »
If you're using Virtual cards, you can pack High-Flying Style and Cruiserweight Style Action. Those make your non-Throwback Japanese Arm Drags 0F High Risks, which might help get that opening Fortitude.

73
Rules Forum / Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« on: September 08, 2018, 08:14:17 AM »
When Heyman uses his ability, he just puts them into his ring or into his Backstage; he never plays them. Accordingly, his stipulations don't encounter step 1 of the timing in playing a card:
"1 Play the card.  Until the card is moved to another area, it is not in any area while resolving the Timing Breakdown."

So his stipulations are always either in his ring or Backstage.

74
Welcome (back) to Raw Deal / Re: Need Set Help
« on: August 24, 2018, 10:44:02 AM »
You'll probably be hard pressed to build decks out of boosters from earlier sets, unless there's a survivor series in there. You'll be relying on getting sets of the booster only Superstars, and you'll be unlikely to pull basic reversals like elbow to the face, step aside, etc.

You certainly won't have any trouble building 60 card decks, it will just be a very specific meta.

That said, if you supplement those boxes with some of the virtual stuff from this site, you can make up for a lot of that slack, and introduce a horde of complete Superstars, not to mention support for anyone you get from the boosters.

75
Online Play / Re: Lackey on iPad update error
« on: June 16, 2018, 06:21:59 PM »
Thank you!

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6