Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - dilbert505

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 80
1
Rules Forum / Re: Rabid Attack in the Corner and Superplex
« on: June 25, 2020, 05:55:34 AM »
Oh, I like straightforward questions. Yes, you may.

2
Rules Forum / Re: Con-Chair-To
« on: June 23, 2020, 12:20:04 PM »
No. Goldberg's permission to pack a Superstar-specific card of his choice with "spear" in the title is not the same as being able to pack Edge-specific cards, even if there is an Edge-specific card that meets the criterion laid out.

3
Rules Forum / Re: Master of the W-O-R-M
« on: June 18, 2020, 11:30:36 PM »
As worded, the reversal would have to be printed Scotty-specific. If it wanted any reversal, the text would be "Once during each of your turns, when a reversal or printed Scotty 2 Hotty-specific Trademark Finisher is in your Ringside..."

4
Rules Forum / Re: French Phenom
« on: June 15, 2020, 08:52:28 PM »
Confirming, based on the ruling from here: http://teamcanadaonline.net///index.php/topic,15968.msg209873.html#msg209873

Damage and overturn target the actual Arsenal only, and do not interact with French Phenom, but effects that specifically interact with the "top card of your Arsenal" will target the card under French Phenom. This does include things like Road Dogg's ability; however, MRP for Kick reads "When successfully played, overturn 1 card," as DebuRaito rightly points out. This card no longer interacts with French Phenom.

5
Arn Anderson (57F) wins via countout over John Morrison (34F), after a 3 hour Iron Man match.

6
Online Play / Re: OCTGN Errors/Updates/Suggestions
« on: June 05, 2020, 05:37:10 PM »
Legendary Assistance does not appear to exist in the deckbuilder.

7
I'm claiming a spot in the tournament, but I haven't decided who I want to play yet. If I'm sniped to a particular Superstar, so be it.

Edit: OK, I'll run Arn Anderson.

8
Rules Forum / Re: The Revival
« on: May 28, 2020, 11:00:40 PM »
That is a static effect, sir; feel free to use that one every turn.

9
Not so much Raw Deal Logic; that's just what the phrase means. Allowing a player to do something, by definition, involves giving them the choice to do it or not. It's intended as a cost you're paying to get Orlando back, not a clock to help kill your opponent. If the effect was mandatory, it would say "When this card is in your Ringside pile, during your turn you may put this card into your Ring area and your opponent draws 3 cards."

10
General Chat / Re: It's Time.
« on: May 25, 2020, 09:06:40 PM »
Thank you, Daeva, for all you've done for Raw Deal. The privilege has been ours. I can say with some certainty that we would not be here today had you not shepherded the game through its first 12 years of community production, fighting the ruleset into something manageable and understandable. I know that a good half of my understanding of how this game operates comes not from the OmniFAQ and Timing Breakdown, but from reading your explanations of card interactions in the Rules forum, and seeing how each of the pieces comes together to form a coherent whole. We can even forgive you for Vickie. Mostly. ;)

Whatever I can do as Rules Manager will be because I stand upon the shoulders of giants. Which is a terrible idea, by the by; I have absolute garbage balance, and could stand to lose a few pounds to boot. But nonetheless, I'm happy for the opportunity to help keep Raw Deal alive and well, and will do my utmost to ensure that I provide fair, reasonable analysis of the rules, and take swift action if needed to correct anything that comes out of design and playtesting less than fully baked.

Three cheers for one of the main reasons we're all still here! Happy trails.

11
Rules Forum / Re: Test Questions
« on: May 22, 2020, 10:46:41 PM »
As for the other question:

http://teamcanadaonline.net///index.php/topic,16626.msg192895.html#msg192895

Doubling effects don't stack. Both cards look at, say, 3 reversals in his Ring, and go "OK, 3x2=6. He has 6 reversals in his Ring."

12
Rules Forum / Re: Test and Overrated Superstar
« on: May 11, 2020, 11:34:12 AM »
Even when cards happen "together" (like Panics) they still resolve one at a time. This card isn't even one of those; two copies of Overrated are two separate cards activating separately.

If, after the first Overrated Superstar has resolved, Test's opponent still meets the hand size criterion, he may put in another one. Otherwise, he may not.

13
Online Organized Play / Re: OCTGN Virtual Tournament
« on: April 27, 2020, 05:11:04 PM »
BFM (57F) pins Sid (11F).

14
Rules Forum / Re: Gut Buster on the top rope
« on: April 26, 2020, 08:51:32 PM »
If the Gut Buster on the Top Rope is not modified by other cards, he may not play Restricted Use at all. If it is modified by other things, Restricted Use could strip away those outside modifications, leaving only the cannot be reversed text on the Buster itself to deal with.

The cannot be reversed text is not an outside restriction; it is printed on the card, and therefore Restricted Use does nothing to that text.

15
Online Organized Play / Re: OCTGN Virtual Tournament
« on: April 20, 2020, 05:18:50 PM »
BFM (32F) pins Sabu (2F).

16
Professional Wrestling Discussion / Howard Finkel, 1950-2020
« on: April 16, 2020, 09:18:13 AM »
The voice of my childhood has gone silent. Requiescat in pace, Fink.

17
Professional Wrestling Discussion / Re: WWE and AEW: SHUT DOWN NOW
« on: April 14, 2020, 01:06:56 PM »
Yeah, I saw that. Maybe it’s me, but I fail to understand how pro wrestling can be “essential”.

Actually I can, but that’ll be bringing up politics, which I absolutely will not do anymore in a public forum like this.

Panem et circenses, QR, that's all I'll say to that.

18
Online Organized Play / Re: OCTGN Virtual Tournament
« on: April 04, 2020, 12:28:22 PM »
Dilbert - Big Freak'n Machine

19
General Chat / Re: [Spoilers] Persona 5 Royal
« on: March 31, 2020, 09:06:25 AM »
It arrived within the past hour, but my wife's working in the living room and is on calls all day, so... I'll have thoughts soon. Right now, I'm... aggravated by the delay, but looking forward to it.

Side note: When next you're up our way, give me a shout. I don't use my Vita anymore (bought it for P4G, used it for mostly that, have other stuff now), so I'd be happy to loan it to you if you like.

20
That... is much worse than the speculation I heard that it would be Braun Strowman.

Of course, given my druthers, I'd have the Usos beat the New Day to get into the Tag Title match against Miz & Morrison, which would free up Kofi Kingston for another Wrestlemania moment. But we all know that's not happening.

21
Speaking of people not being there...

That's the Smackdown Title match kiboshed. Roman Reigns is off the card at his request, as he is immunocompromised and unwilling to take the risk (and wisely so.) There will apparently be a replacement to feed to Goldberg, and it will probably suck.

22
Rules Forum / Re: This is MY Hometown!
« on: March 25, 2020, 10:23:57 PM »
...OK, that is a very different question, and one that sounds like I need to check with the back office about the card's original design intent. Hold that thought.

23
Rules Forum / Re: This is MY Hometown!
« on: March 25, 2020, 08:17:37 PM »
The bolded clause is part of the "when Your Town is in his Ring" effect, but if Your Town is not in his Ring, it doesn't matter. At the point at which you can play This is MY Hometown, you already cannot play a Feud, Stipulation, or Manager. That clause is to prevent you from using the "immediately play a Feud, Stipulation, Manager, or Object" text to put a second Feud/Stip/Manager into your Ring.

(Example: you are The Four Horsemen, and for whatever reason, you're packing Managed by J.J. Dillon and Managed by "The Mouth of the South," Jimmy Hart. Your opponent plays Your Town, you play JJ. If you then play MY Hometown, you cannot then play Jimmy; however, if your opponent had not played Your Town and you'd played JJ, you wouldn't have been able to play Jimmy anyway. It's only the specific permission of MY Hometown that needed that possibility shut off.)

24
And we're already getting reports of people not being there. Dana Brooke and Rey Mysterio are both in self-isolation, and will miss the show. Dana's been pulled from the Smackdown women's title match, and Rey was apparently going to be in a 4-way match with Andrade, Humberto Carrillo, and Angel Garza for the US title. Instead we're getting Andrade & Angel Garza vs. the Street Profits for the Raw tag titles.

25
Well, first things first, this is a rules question, so off to the Rules forum we go.

Also, the card text of Straight-Shootin' Interview:

Straight-Shootin’ Interview
Pre-match Event
When this card is in your Ring area, if you successfully play a maneuver with the word “shoot” in the title, remove the top card of your Arsenal from the game and remove the top 2 cards of your opponent’s Arsenal from the game. During your turn, you may put this card into your Ringside pile and then he overturns cards equal to the number of maneuvers in your Ring area with the word “shoot” in the title.
¶ ¶ ¶ (Activated Card Effect Symbol)
Cheater logo
F: 0      D: 0

As to the question, yes, you can use the text of Straight-Shootin' Interview to remove cards from the game whenever you successfully play a shoot maneuver. DVS limits you to playing only one copy of Straight-Shootin' Interview (thanks to it now being Active), but the second half of that sentence has no bearing on SSI itself. It primarily exists so that Shoot Counter does not see SSI in your Ring; you have to successfully play another card with Shoot in the title for that to be a valid play.

Note that SSI triggers off a successful maneuver, not a successful card; you can't trigger that effect just because you played SSI, but that's not because of DVS.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 80