Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Erin Lyger

Pages: [1]
Rules Forum / Re: Is Armageddon AB legal?
« on: July 22, 2007, 05:16:20 PM »
The set is.  The Action/Reversal hybrid is not.

Classic Raw Deal / Re: Happiest Raw Deal Moment
« on: June 03, 2007, 09:54:30 PM »
1)  Tornado Tag tournament last year.  I played Andre/Shawn Michaels.  Came in second place (should have done better, but it was our first tournament after GAB was legal, and I still wasn't familiar with Andre's cards.  It was also my first time playing Shawn).  There's nothing quite like sitting across from your opponent with a 115 card arsenal.  :)

2)  My first tournament win.  Playing Christy.  I took the same deck to DragonCon's qualifier a couple of weeks later and got completely dominated (Undertaker and Mysterio are REALLY bad matches for the way I had her built), but winning for the first time is a neat feeling.  Christy has been jokingly banned from our tournaments now, though, as the deck took quite a while to really get rolling.

3)  Beating that guy.  I think everyone has one of them in their area.  He's loud, he's obnoxious, and he Will.  Not.  Shut.  Up.  He isn't just content to beat you, he's got to tell you exactly how he beat you, and then bring it up five or six more times over the rest of the day.  In our area, he also has this bad habit of coming in with the exact deck to screw my plans up.  He always seems to draw exactly what he needs.  He's pushy, he's just generally not the kind of person you enjoy playing with.

Today, I rolled right over him in one turn with my Test deck.  THAT felt nice.  Listening to him go on and on for the next hour about how he forgot about a card in his Backlash didn't, but the game itself felt wonderful.

Fantasy Cards / Re: The Great Khali
« on: April 26, 2007, 09:10:34 PM »
I second the request for purchasing.  Honestly, I don't really care what his ability/cards are.  I want to play Khali.

Rules Forum / Re: Underestimate vs Overshot
« on: April 22, 2007, 07:37:44 PM »
No, it doesn't.  SS3 printing of Overshot Your Mark:
Reversal: Special
Reverse any Strike maneuver of 5D or greater, any High Risk maneuver, or any maneuver played after the card titled Irish Whip, and end your opponent's turn. This card is +#D, where # is equal to the reversed maneuver's Damage.
F: 8      D: 0
Since it says "this card is +#D", that means the card actually has damage to do.  Underestimate says you do not take damage from non-unique reversals, so you do not.  Had it said "overturn equal to the damage of the reversed card", then it would work.  But it doesn't.

Fantasy Cards / Re: 4 New Extremists
« on: March 16, 2007, 12:41:04 PM »
Just being able to completely ignore the requirements on Where There’s a Will, There’s a Way makes him rather horridly broken.

Deck Reviews - All Axxess / Re: bfm ideas
« on: March 14, 2007, 11:05:36 PM »
I've always been really fond of dropping Trash Talkin' Interview (TB) to strip their hand of action reversals (at least, ideally) and dropping as many copies of Journey as you can first turn.  Inferno Match and No Way Out (TB) make things really interesting.  Of course, the action reversal stripping is slightly less important with BFM's ability (I always did this with Kane for the extra burn every turn).

A possibility would be to drop Previously Unannounced Match as your only pre-match, limiting their ability to use Backlash deck reversals against you.  Or perhaps Previously and Break You, just to be exceptionally cruel.  This will also serve to get rid of those pesky action reversals.  With Journey being non-unique, having some way to deal with Road to Victory might be helpful, but I'm really not familiar enough with AA to suggest ways around that one.

Rules Forum / Re: Yet Another No Show question.
« on: March 12, 2007, 11:39:27 AM »
One would go to hand, the other would be removed.  Precedent has already been set for partial completion of the requirements.  From the FAQ:
-The two cards put under A No Show will only go to that player’s hand if they are Heel, and the two cards have different titles; if the card title is the same, only one will go to hand, the other is removed from the game.  (Cards with Throwback still have the same card title)
Since you can fulfill half of the requirements (heel, but not different titles) to only get one card in hand, you are obviously allowed to fulfill half of the requirements (one not heel, but different titles) to do the same.

If you have any reason at all to believe that people in your tournament might be packing more than a handful of Revolution cards, I cannot understate the value of Denville for Kennedy.  At the Afterburn tournament we had last weekend, a Kennedy deck was hitting people for 15 to 20 cards thanks to the 0F Rev reversals.  It sounds like your meta might go the same way, so I'd strongly consider working it into your pre-match.

I'm not sure how that would help him.  What was he trying to do, play a few hybrids to get his fort up, then slam you with "irreversable" maneuvers at a higher F value or something?  Because that's the only way I can see having BFM's hybrids not count could possibly help.

From the FAQ:
When playing a Hybrid card, you choose the card type you wish to play the card as.  All other card types are ignored.  (Example: playing Neck Breaker as a Reversal card will not count as playing a Maneuver card.)

As such, Big Freak'n Machine's ability does not trigger on a reversal Volley This!

Rules Forum / Revolution and Sigs
« on: December 29, 2006, 02:17:17 PM »
Will the new Revolution TKs have a new style of sigs?  Or are the old sigs still legal in Revolution?  How is all of this going to work?

Pages: [1]