Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Daeva

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 236
1
Try again on the next Rusev Day.

Also, happy Rusev Day! Matchka!

2
Rules Forum / Re: Touch turnbuckle
« on: October 07, 2018, 11:28:42 PM »
When you reverse a Touch Turnbuckle card, the Touch Turnbuckle just bounces back into the Backlash as a consequence of the reversal attempting to send it to Ringside. None of the Touch Turnbuckle's other text will trigger, because it was not successfully played.

The sole exception is that you'll have already discarded three Reversals to even attempt Touch Turnbuckle #4, so you obviously won't get those cards back.

3
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: No more shenanigans
« on: October 07, 2018, 11:25:23 PM »
To avoid a deluge of questions: NOTHING that specifies a number of cards to discard (even when that number is defined by a #) is influenced by No More Shenanigans' protection against hand/Backlash discard. That clause only affects things that specifically say "your opponent discards his hand" or "your opponent discards his Backlash" or the like.

4
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: No more shenanigans
« on: October 07, 2018, 12:44:21 PM »
Hogtrail is correct. Any numeric discard effect does not trigger No More Shenanigans, regardless of how many cards you have in your hand. If I make you discard 10 cards with The Condemned and you only have 7, you drop 'em all.

5
Rules Forum / Re: Bellas
« on: September 19, 2018, 07:51:23 PM »
Yeah, Finlay makes them Multi everywhere (as long as they're Actions), and hybrids are considered all of their types everywhere except when they're going through the Timing Sequence. Story checks out.

6
Rules Forum / Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« on: September 06, 2018, 10:52:32 PM »
Attempting to play a card makes it leave the Ring. That trips the Bookkeeping Rule. It will not be blank.

7
Rules Forum / Re: Blanking card moved from ring and then re-played
« on: September 06, 2018, 03:29:47 PM »
Dilbert is correct. This is called the Bookkeeping Rule.

8
Rules Forum / Re: The french phenom
« on: August 30, 2018, 11:20:36 AM »
Yeah, it's on top of your Arsenal. You'd grab the card under Phenom and two cards from the top of your Arsenal.

Note that this isn't a "can you?" question, it's a "do you?" question; you don't have a choice in the matter. You can't choose to leave the card under Phenom and grab three off of the deck.

9
Rules Forum / Re: Unorthodox Style of Wrestling
« on: August 19, 2018, 06:19:19 PM »
The RMS will not allow you to alter the reversibility of the card that it's on.

Anything that says "your next card played cannot be reversed," even with rider text after "reversed", is altering the reversibility of the card, and the RMS won't permit it.

To get around the RMS, the effect would have to be like, "Your opponent cannot play..." or "Your opponent's Reversals are +10F" or something similar.

So Quick Snap Body Slam into Rolling Headlock Vise won't credit the benefit from Quick Snap.

10
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: Jeff Hardy question
« on: August 19, 2018, 11:35:14 AM »
Yeah, Unorthodox Style TB continuously checks. As soon as the maneuver hits your Ring and your Fortitude is above 10, it stops being affected by Unorthodox Style TB.

11
Rules Forum / Re: Multi reversal
« on: August 19, 2018, 11:34:19 AM »
Nope. If a card says "can only be reversed by 2 reversal cards," that supersedes "completely reverse" on either of the reversal cards. You need two red cards to reverse the card.

(Also note that Vince GRA doesn't work at all against something that "can only be reversed by 2 reversal cards," since it's not a reversal card.)

12
Gaming Discussion (Everything Else) / Re: Boardgame Apps on Mobile
« on: August 14, 2018, 06:00:42 PM »
So, the thing about Talisman... it's one of those games that you need to play with other people, because a big part of the game is the schadenfreude that you feel when another player gets close to winning and then dies horribly because they can't roll better than a 2. Playing with AIs is kinda... flat.

13
Excellent, thank you for following up on that, CRASHER.

14
Easy, fellas. Let's focus on fixing the problem.

15
Rules Forum / Re: Poke vs Two Time Two Time
« on: August 10, 2018, 09:03:57 PM »
Re: Two-Time: Rule #0.5 of Raw Deal is "cards do what they say they do"; if something specifically says that it does something normally impossible (barring any outside meddling), then it can perform that impossible act.

Re: Hardcore Holly GRA reversing Poke: No. FAQ:

Hardcore Holly, Guest Ring Announcer
-If Clutch onto Opponent is named, this card is able to reverse Clutch when activated.
-This card cannot be used with Atomic Back Body Drop, Atomic Lariat, and other cards that require specific ‘reversal cards,’ as Hardcore is not a reversal card.

The bolded line would not be present if Hardcore Holly GRA bypassed all reversal restrictions. The Clutch situation is the way that it is because naming Clutch makes Hardcore Holly GRA's ACE specifically reverse Clutch, because... it specifically reverses Clutch and nothing else. Naming Clutch makes it a legal reversal for Clutch because that's what Clutch looks for. (Likewise, naming Clutch with The Hitman will let you use Hitman to hit Clutch.)

So what's the difference? The difference is that Hardcore Holly doesn't specifically say "I reverse Poke," he says "pick something and I'll reverse it, barring anything that stops me." Picking something isn't sufficient to trigger Rule #0.5 (which is a term that I've just coined, since Rule #0 is "the cards trump the rulebook"), it has to be a specific callout printed on the card.

(Fun upshot of this: Oklahoma Roll and Shove Off the Top Rope reverse Superplex TB from hand because they specifically say that they nail Superplex.)

16
Gaming Discussion (Everything Else) / Re: Smash Ultimate
« on: August 10, 2018, 02:48:09 PM »
That makes me wonder... why has Birdo never shown up in Smash, apart from being a stage hazard in Mushroom Kingdom II?

17
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: inside cradle to a multi
« on: August 09, 2018, 02:07:13 PM »
niiiiiiiiiiiick is correct. You wouldn't even get to the point of being able to reverse again, let alone taking damage from the maneuver. You'd win during step 8 of Inside Cradle's Timing Sequence, which is resolved in full before you continue with the Multi's Timing Sequence. Once you win, the game is over, and you can't perform more game actions because there's no more game to perform them in!

18
I cant wait to throw an 8f precision haymaker with nakamura and have it hit twice lol

Don't hold your breath. The RMS won't let you fiddle with the number of times a maneuver can deal damage (just like Batista can't make an RMS reversal deal damage 0 times).

Also, we're still fiddling with Nakamura in playtesting, so take everything so far with a grain of salt.

19
Rules Forum / Re: A couple shinsuke questions.
« on: August 08, 2018, 10:04:18 AM »
I'm going to lock this thread temporarily while we discuss some things in the PT forum. Hold tight, folks.

20
Rules Forum / Re: A couple shinsuke questions.
« on: August 06, 2018, 06:19:01 PM »
Newbie question here, please be gentle:

1.) isn't applying damage different than applying card text?
2.) isn't stun a trait? if not, what is it classified as?
3.) shinsuke has to discard 1 card an announce intentions to apply damage twice; if the maneuver is reversed once the effect is lost, correct?
4.) will reversing the second damage application trigger card text as if it were a reversed maneuver?
5.) the second damage application...this doesn't carry the previous card text including restrictions, does it?

Applying damage is different than applying card text, as per the Timing Breakdown posted in my signature.

Stun is a trait. (Specifically, a sub-class trait that only applies to maneuvers.)

Shinsuke cycles a card to declare his intention to apply damage twice when the card is a legal play, in step 2e. If the card is unsuccessful, it never gets to Step 9 to deal damage, so it can't apply damage twice, or at all.

Reversing either instance of Damage (or both, if you're fancy) counts as reversing the card from Arsenal for Counter, etc.

The second Damage application is identical to the first when it comes to reversal restrictions, etc. It's still Damage from the qualifying maneuver, it's an exact duplicate of the first.

Re: Over Sell Maneuver: Over Sell replaces one instance of Damage. Apply the second normally (including being able to reverse it from Arsenal) and then the turn will end.

21
Each instance of Damage triggers Stun separately.

22
Rules Forum / Re: A couple shinsuke questions.
« on: August 06, 2018, 01:51:26 PM »
The second application of Damage can be reversed as normal and draws Stun as normal.

The second application of Damage applies whatever damage was derived by the time that Step 8 rolls around. In practice, that means that every Damage modifier that was applied to the card applies to both instances, EXCEPT Sustained Damage, which has to be used separately for each instance of Damage because of its very specific wording. So Not in Front of the Kids will knock 4D off of both applications, using Nakamura's Ability on a card affected by Brahma Bull deals 1D twice, etc.

23
Big congratulations on the huge win, SRH! Start thinking about your champion's card now, because we've got to beat it from pillar to post in playtesting.

24
So, when I take a strike from Shinsuke and I decide to ACE Sustained Damage.

Do I:
1. take the reduced damage twice?
2. take the reduced damage once, then the full damage (which I can sustain again)?

eg. Shinsuke hits a Dirty Low Blow TB on me, I use SD to reduce the damage to 0 by discarding 1 card, do I take 0, then have to proc SD again for the next 2 damage or do I take 0 damage twice?

Sustained Damage triggers immediately before you take damage. Nakamura makes two separate instances of the maneuver's damage, so you Sustain down each instance separately. (For the inevitable "which Damage level do I follow-up off of?" question: both; in practice, only the higher one will matter.)

Each instance of damage from Nakamura's Ability needs to be reversed separately from Arsenal; stopping the first from Arsenal doesn't negate the second. (Reversing either instance on the overturn will end the turn once both instances are dealt.)

Nakamura needs to signal that he intends to deal damage twice before his opponent gets a chance to reverse. If the opponent renders the card unsuccessful, it can't deal damage at all, and Nakamura's Ability is wasted (apart from the card cycling).

If Asuka's opponent's hand is completely empty when her maneuver is unsuccessful, the opponent will simply draw a card.

25
Gaming Discussion (Everything Else) / Re: Boardgame Apps on Mobile
« on: August 04, 2018, 12:48:21 PM »
By "board game apps," do you mean apps that emulate board games, or apps that are companions to board games?

For the latter, I can heartily recommend the Dead of Winter Crossroads app. It replaces the Crossroads deck, adds a narrator to read the Crossroads cards, and most importantly, it hides the results of the Crossroads actions until you tap them, for another layer of immersion.

The Sheriff of Nottingham app is also really handy, both as a timer for the inspection round and to help you score the game. Instead of everyone busting out their calculator and ticking away, the app can figure out the most-of-goods bonuses for you.

For apps that emulate board games, my most-played is the Onirim app. Onirim is a solitaire card game, and it translates to an app perfectly. I also enjoy the apps for Star Realms and Ascension, and Ascension supports up to 4 humans or AI players.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 236