Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - darkdestiny91

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8
1
It shouldn't be that surprising; support takes feedback about the Superstar in mind. New Superstar sets are designed whole-cloth and tuned from there, so that can be done sets in advance.

Ah I see. Was of the opinion that since existing superstars already affect the game in some way or another, it's much easier to playtest new material for them in that space, rather than introducing new superstars to the mix which probably makes testing harder since it's more difficult to judge if that breaks anything from new mechanics and all.

2
The superstars are close to being finished, unlike the support cards which haven't fully been designed yet - but it still takes time to do.  College also takes time.  One of these things will provide a better career for myself, and improve my ability to take care of my family, that thing obviously gets priority.

Sorry to disappoint you for taking so long, I'll be sure to refund the money you spent on the set.   ;D

CREED

It's nice to hear about this. Kinda surprised hearing the support isn't fully designed yet, but superstars are. Would love to see them soon! Cheers, Creed and good luck with college, man!

3
I know "it's ready when it's ready" but I really hope a suggestion can be heard.

Even if TCO would not be releasing the new superstars, would it be too much to ask about the new support for existing superstars?

4
Fantasy Cards / Re: Old school defense
« on: November 12, 2018, 12:22:18 AM »
Personally feel that's a bit too strong, giving yourself 2F for playing a D:0 card is a bit unfair, imo. However, the idea is pretty cool, since it does give you more options instead of just 'toss 3x ROTM into the deck'.

Maybe something along the lines of "You may draw up to 1 card when you play Break The Hold, Escape Move or Step Aside." or simply saying "your Break The Hold, Escape Move or Step Aside cards are considered 2 reversals when reversing a maneuver" would be good enough?

5
Thanks for the clarification!

6
Just needed a clarification on certain cards regarding the Chain trait as well.

1. Scenario A: Player A plays a printed Chain card after his previously played printed Chain card, would player B's Carlito Says "That's Not Cool!" work?

Carlito Says "That’s Not Cool!"
Reversal: Special
This card ignores any reversal restrictions from the reversed card.
Reverse any non-unique maneuver with a printed reversal restriction, draw 2 cards, and your opponent discards 2 random cards.
When overturned, this card is -5F and can also reverse any card with Momentum or any non-damage card effect.
F: 5     D: 0     Unique

2. Scenario B: Same as above, but can player B play This Is Going To Be an Old School Brawl! to the same

This Is Going To Be an Old School Brawl!
Mid-match Reversal: Special
Can only be played when your opponent plays a maneuver with a reversal restriction from his card that is not his first maneuver with a reversal restriction from his card this turn. Blank that maneuver's text and damage, he discards 2 random cards, and end his turn.
When this card is in your Ring and he plays a non-Superstar-specific maneuver with a reversal restriction from his card that is not his first maneuver this turn with a reversal restriction from his card, he overturns 2 cards.
F: 0     D: 2     Unique     RMS logo

Lastly, I was also hoping for a clarification on Chain trait given by other cards, and whether the reversals in both Scenario A and B works if it's say, granted by The Legend Lives On

The Legend Lives On
Reversal: Special
Reverse any Chain, Heat, Throwback, Volley, or Restricted Modification Symbol card and end your opponent's turn. Discard your hand.
When this card is in your Ring area, during your turn your Maneuver cards in your Ringside pile and played from your Ringside pile are Heat cards, and your Maneuver cards played from your hand are Chain cards.
F: 0     D: 2     Unique     Errata
ARM

7
Rules Forum / Re: Panic assault versus backlash
« on: November 03, 2018, 12:39:05 AM »
Yes. From the OmniFAQ:

-The Panic Maneuver is played first, and that allows the player to reveal a Maneuver from hand and play it.  There is no way to have any extra Maneuvers played with the Panic effect, apart from the one specified.  This is also important for card effects such as Turn the Tide and Turn Up the Heat; Benoit’s ability cannot grant a bonus to the Panic maneuver due to RMS, but it will give the accompanying maneuver +2D (or greater) if possible, since it is the second maneuver played.

Backlash! (SS3)
Mid-match Reversal: Special
Can only be played when your Fortitude Rating is less than your opponent's Fortitude Rating.
Reverse any Strike, Grapple, or Submission maneuver if it is not the first maneuver played this turn and end his turn.
F: 0   D: 3

According to the omniFAQ and Backlash's MRP, it should be able to be played against the second maneuver that is played using the Panic <grab, throw, assault> card's effect unless it has a reversal restriction of course

8
Deck Reviews - Classic / Re: Goldberg, first draft.
« on: November 01, 2018, 12:50:30 AM »
What's the goal or strategy of the deck? We can't offer advice if you don't share that with us.

9
Rules Forum / Re: "From a card"
« on: October 31, 2018, 04:28:19 AM »

You're confusing two different parts of the card.

Don't be a Douchebag!
Action / Reversal: Special
As an action, cannot be reversed when you have lower Fortitude; shuffle up to 2 cards from your Ringside into your Arsenal.
As a reversal, ignore any reversal restriction from a card, reverse any non-Unique maneuver that is Revolution or has a reversal restriction from your opponent; when overturned, can also reverse any non-damage card effect (even during the Pre-Match phase), and put this card in to your Ring.
Choose one: draw 1 card or he discards 1 card.
F: 0     D: 2     Unique     Permanent

Douchebag may only ignore reversal restrictions from a card, not from a trait (that would be the part in bold above.) As a result, you still have to discard 2 cards to satisfy the Chain trait before throwing Douchebag as a reversal to a Chain card. However, the Chain trait is still a reversal restriction from an opponent, so Douchebag is still a valid reversal, as the underlined part indicates.

Okay, got it. Just trying to clarify. Looks like Daeva's example got me all confused.

10
Rules Forum / Re: "From a card"
« on: October 30, 2018, 09:31:33 PM »

But Dbag CANT ignore the discard 2 for chain because that is coming from the trait, not the card. Just as the omniFAQ states for Heat, it's a trait, not card effect so it gets around Rattlesnake

And that is why I’m asking. In previous rulings, it was previously ruled that you can use Don’t Be A Douchebag! to reverse Chain cards because of the trait’s effect on the maneuver affected. Now, it seems to be ruled differently again? Can we get a consensus on what Douchebag can or cannot do, and how traits will interact with the reversal restriction ruling?

11
Rules Forum / Re: "From a card"
« on: October 29, 2018, 12:45:11 AM »
So, if let's say I playing The Showstopper, and The Legend Lives On grants my maneuvers played from hand the Chain trait,

My opponent can't use Don't be a Douchebag to reverse said maneuvers?

The Legend Lives On
Reversal: Special
Reverse any Chain, Heat, Throwback, Volley, or Restricted Modification Symbol card and end your opponent's turn. Discard your hand.
When this card is in your Ring area, during your turn your Maneuver cards in your Ringside pile and played from your Ringside pile are Heat cards, and your Maneuver cards played from your hand are Chain cards.
F: 0     D: 2     Unique     Errata
ARM

Don't be a Douchebag!
Action / Reversal: Special
As an action, cannot be reversed when you have lower Fortitude; shuffle up to 2 cards from your Ringside into your Arsenal.
As a reversal, ignore any reversal restriction from a card, reverse any non-Unique maneuver that is Revolution or has a reversal restriction from your opponent; when overturned, can also reverse any non-damage card effect (even during the Pre-Match phase), and put this card in to your Ring.
Choose one: draw 1 card or he discards 1 card.
F: 0     D: 2     Unique     Permanent

12
Deck Reviews - Classic / Re: Rey Mysterio Deck List Help
« on: October 19, 2018, 10:34:45 AM »
I'm not sure what you're looking for but the only Mysterio deck I faced was a Back to Basics deck.

Basically pack all (or most) of the maneuvers on the card, then abuse your ability to stop your opponent from ending your turn so they run out of reversals to stop your attacks.


13
Rules Forum / Re: New Age outlaws VS Precision maneuvers
« on: October 16, 2018, 05:14:44 AM »
I believe the "when played..." effect to lower the Fortitude of the Precision maneuver will affect the card before NAO's ability kicks in.

Timing Breakdown
2a Determine the Fortitude cost for the card, including modifiers, the effects of the card’s player first, then his opponent’s effects. (Multiplication/division first, then addition/subtraction.) You may not play a card if you cannot meet the Fortitude cost, unless a ‘when played’ effect can lower the Fortitude cost; this effect can only be as a function of playing the card.

And I'm not sure if this is right but I think NAO's ability kicks in at step 2e of the Timing Breakdown.

Timing Breakdown
2e Apply any ‘when played’ effects from the card’s controller.

14
Heath Slater, protects the action (no hybrids) and gives a fort reduction

Doesn't work, his ability affects only actions played from hand now.

You can try Dolph Ziggler with his #HEEL and Abraham Washington Show instead!

15
What's a good nxt deck for a beginner?

I'm not familiar with the NXT format so I'll leave that to the players that are.

But if you're discussing the NXT-affiliated superstars, I'll recommend Kevin Owens. He's VERY straightforward for any player that wants to try out a NXT superstar. He gives you benefits to cripple your opponent a little when you play the NXT belt, and you get strong prematch options such as one that helps tutor for a starting maneuver, and his arguably strongest card, his midmatch action that LETS YOU END YOUR OPPONENT TURN. He has got versatility and can go different builds: I've seen him built Chain/Volley, BASH, pure Volley, dynamic, even SmackDown utilizing the Backed by Vickie build.

16
I'm taking any suggestions I was thinking about doing either two man power Trip or the new day

Ok, assuming you're using a backlash deck as well as playing with the virtual stuff that TCO produces, I'd say to try the separate components of each faction of both 2MPT and New Day first.

2MPT allows you to use an absurd amount of cards from both HHH and Stone Cold that it's hard to get a feel of the deck. So I recommend messing around with either superstar then mash it up for a deck. Ideas I've seen are the There Is No Escape route, using superstar-specifics to pelt the opponent. (do check out the superstar spotlight for 2MPT here: http://teamcanadaonline.net///index.php/topic,17302.msg198436.html#msg198436)

As for New Day, the faction deck and the separate guys play very differently, and it is quite fun to build either the solo stars or go the faction route to get a feel of the game. Quick recommendations will be Kofi for a high-flyer style deck or Big E for strong hard-hitting moves. New Day faction is quite complicated for a new player as the superstar ability breaks a bit of deckbuilding rules, so it's VERY flexible but I do recommend only building them once you're more used to the game. But as for ideas, going heel/face/cheater is pretty strong, although I don't have any builds to reference here.

Cheers!

17
Do you play with a backlash deck?

If no, any superstar from the premiere set like Stone Cold Steve Austin, HHH, etc are pretty good choices.

If yes, I'll recommend decks that help tutor maneuvers like Rikishi/Heidenreich/etc as potential good starters.


I assume you don't play virtual (since you're just starting out!), so eventually when you get more familiar with the game, you can try out the other superstars that TCO have made over the years to flesh out the game more.

18
*peeks at secret documents*

...define 'restriction'.

 :angel:

*cough*playrestrictionisathing...*cough*

This may be quite interesting if it's a play restriction for her that's superstar-specific. We've not seen much of those in the game so far (most notorious being Backed by SmackDown GM Vickie Guerrero) so this is exciting news! However, there will be a need to have some counters for those if not it can get quite NPE-inducing.

19
We had some juicy spoilers on the Backlash Podcast's latest episode! Would Eric and Scott put up the text version of the potential cards we might have in the set (I say potential since we can't be sure it's the final version of the cards that will be released :P)

Let's keep the v9 hype train alive!

20
Any hints of next update?

I know it will be ready when it is ready... at the same time I’ve been refreshing this daily.
Really don’t mean to rush/offend anyone!

Just kind of excited  ;D

Goes for a lot of us. Really can't wait to hear when we can expect to see more of V9, yet it made my heart sink a little regarding Creed's previous message.

21
Rules Forum / Re: A couple shinsuke questions.
« on: August 06, 2018, 11:30:26 PM »


If it is, does it grant another chance for opponent like Jamie Noble to pick up another card from Ringside again after the resolution of the damage on the second application? Likewise, can opponent play oversell again?

Appreciate any advices.

Oversell and Sustained are played during step 7b of timing breakdown. Only the ACE of Sustained can be activated. I assume you are right that the entire step 9 is being repeated when Nakamura's ability is activated, thus the timing to play another Oversell Maneuver is long gone.

However, I'd like to add on instead. Do cards like Undermine the Competition and Oversell, those that look at damage after the maneuver is successfully played, require the player that played the UtC or OM to take both packets of damage to use the effect of the reversal? I see an earlier response by Daeva that only the first instance of damage is replaced by Oversell, but do I draw after the first instance or the second? Likewise, for UtC, does the maneuver removal effect start after the first instance or second?

22
Deck Reviews - Virtual / Re: Shinsuke Nakamura (Heel/Raw/Cheater)
« on: August 06, 2018, 08:52:44 AM »
dlb will be but im sure you will want the og when u can play it every turn for a ton of damage when boosted.

Not much backlash space to run that many so 1x will be more than enough, besides TB has a lot of protection so it's the superior one atm.

23
So, when I take a strike from Shinsuke and I decide to ACE Sustained Damage.

Do I:
1. take the reduced damage twice?
2. take the reduced damage once, then the full damage (which I can sustain again)?

eg. Shinsuke hits a Dirty Low Blow TB on me, I use SD to reduce the damage to 0 by discarding 1 card, do I take 0, then have to proc SD again for the next 2 damage or do I take 0 damage twice?

Sustained Damage triggers immediately before you take damage. Nakamura makes two separate instances of the maneuver's damage, so you Sustain down each instance separately. (For the inevitable "which Damage level do I follow-up off of?" question: both; in practice, only the higher one will matter.)

Each instance of damage from Nakamura's Ability needs to be reversed separately from Arsenal; stopping the first from Arsenal doesn't negate the second. (Reversing either instance on the overturn will end the turn once both instances are dealt.)

Nakamura needs to signal that he intends to deal damage twice before his opponent gets a chance to reverse. If the opponent renders the card unsuccessful, it can't deal damage at all, and Nakamura's Ability is wasted (apart from the card cycling).

If Asuka's opponent's hand is completely empty when her maneuver is unsuccessful, the opponent will simply draw a card.

Thank you for clarifying this! V9 looks awesome so far! Can't wait for the support spoilers!!!

24
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: quadrunner
« on: August 05, 2018, 08:18:13 PM »
Ok look cam someone just explain Sheriff Austin's Quadrunner to me because there is some confusion in the wording of it.

Basically, your opponent Fort Rating is considered to be 10 less than his actual fpr playing run-in or a card with 'interfere' in the title.

So, taking the case you had: Opponent has 16F, he won't be able to play Manager Interferes since he would be considered to only have 6F.

25
So, when I take a strike from Shinsuke and I decide to ACE Sustained Damage.

Do I:
1. take the reduced damage twice?
2. take the reduced damage once, then the full damage (which I can sustain again)?

eg. Shinsuke hits a Dirty Low Blow TB on me, I use SD to reduce the damage to 0 by discarding 1 card, do I take 0, then have to proc SD again for the next 2 damage or do I take 0 damage twice?

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8