Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - BigPimpin

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 103
1
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 2018 Revision Discussion
« on: June 15, 2018, 07:37:32 AM »
I dont think this card works as intended the way it reads. They could just reverse the ace on this card then who cares about big boys not being able to be reversed because turn will still end.

Your Paragon of Virtue
Action
You may play this card from under a WCW card as if from hand. When this card is unsuccessful, you may put it in your Ring instead, regardless of other effects.
Draw up to 2 cards, and your opponent discards 2 random Backlash cards.
ACE: When you Activate Where the Big Boys Play, you can shuffle this card into your Arsenal, and then that card's effect cannot be reversed.
F: 0     D: 0     Unique     WCW logo
V8

Works as intended.  That's the risk you take with the card's ACE. 

In playtesting, we tried that with that ACE being irreversible and it was way too powerful.

2
Sports Discussion / Re: 2018 World Cup
« on: June 06, 2018, 07:16:01 AM »
I've got RL friends in England so I'll be rooting for England, but I feel very meh on this WC, and part of that is probably the lack of a US team.

3
Couple of things:

1) The 1F Reversal is I've Got One Thing To Say About That
2) Judo Takedown won't fly into the ring from under Oh You Didn't Know? or from under any other card.  It has to be in your actual hand for the text to fire.
3) I only see one other Heat card besides Backfire (may be missing something); I think you need Heat cards (plural) for Backfire to be protected from hand reversals.
4) The problem with Broadcast TB isn't the removal, it's the "only one in the Ring" part.  It basically cuts your burn potential in half, which may be enough to prevent you from winning consistently.

Reviewing the rest, will come back if I have more to add.

4
Rants Forum / Re: SquareEnix's Tournament Rules Are Stupid
« on: May 28, 2018, 01:06:16 PM »
Well, the first rule is also a Raw Deal rule, so I find myself less phased by the double-loss rule.  It sucks, but I feel like it's necessary for a tie (in Raw Deal in particular) to be a penalty for both parties and not a non-loss, because in Raw Deal it's entirely possible for someone to take a 0-0-5 record into the end of Swiss for basically doing nothing but going to time.

However, the second one - I get WHY they want it done (Magic has had problems as long as I can think of with people at the top conceding at 1-0 or 1-1 to screw certain guys out of the top cut), but there has to be another way to resolve collusion issues regarding concedes.  It's such a normal thing for either the angry-concede or the "I'm drawing dead" concede that the casual tournament player is going to get screwed and banned if the judge feels like judging it as collusion even if it's not. 

Not happy with that second rule at all.

Really, I'm unhappy with the double-loss rule because with the way FFTCG plays, a tiebreaker can easily be found if they want to have definitive results for each match. If a match goes to time, I've got two damage but my opponent has five, I'm clearly ahead and in an advantageous position. Similarly, I think having damage and/or cards left as a tiebreaker would make for more exciting play when a match goes to turns: whoever's behind will go all-out to try and force damage through to win. I can understand a double-loss if it's an absolute deadlock, but if the game state can demonstrate one player is clearly closer to winning than the opponent, then I think it's better to use that as a tiebreaker.

The "No Conceding" rule however ticks me off the most, especially since I wanted to try and minimize it as much as I possibly could by being sportsmanlike and not screwing over an opponent. Yes, there's issues with collusion in Magic, but eventually they figured it out, with the rule now basically being "As long as there's no material gain besides prizes split, agreeing to a draw or a concession is completely fine". SquareEnix doesn't want prize splits, and they're overly paranoid about collusion, hence why they don't allow conceding a match. Collusion's going to happen, and SquareEnix is determined to stamp it out by any means, regardless of the harm their rules could cause.

I'll counter the "most damage" timeout condition by saying that you know there's decks that play from behind on purpose, and that's a BIG blow to them, especially if the opponent stalls on purpose to delay the comeback.  I don't feel like that's a fair solution either. 

5
Rants Forum / Re: SquareEnix's Tournament Rules Are Stupid
« on: May 28, 2018, 08:44:10 AM »
Well, the first rule is also a Raw Deal rule, so I find myself less phased by the double-loss rule.  It sucks, but I feel like it's necessary for a tie (in Raw Deal in particular) to be a penalty for both parties and not a non-loss, because in Raw Deal it's entirely possible for someone to take a 0-0-5 record into the end of Swiss for basically doing nothing but going to time.

However, the second one - I get WHY they want it done (Magic has had problems as long as I can think of with people at the top conceding at 1-0 or 1-1 to screw certain guys out of the top cut), but there has to be another way to resolve collusion issues regarding concedes.  It's such a normal thing for either the angry-concede or the "I'm drawing dead" concede that the casual tournament player is going to get screwed and banned if the judge feels like judging it as collusion even if it's not. 

Not happy with that second rule at all.

6
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: 2018 Revision Discussion
« on: May 23, 2018, 09:10:46 AM »
Rated RKO doesn't have the text that storylines are not replacing their ability anymore? So if I'm Not Yout Damn Role Model replaces Rated RKO ability, wouldn't their original ability be kicked out and there's no need to blank/unblank storylines anymore?


Rated RKO
Starting Hand Size: 5     Superstar Value: 5
Tag Team Superstar Ability:  You may add the Revolution logo to this card's title.
Your Storyline cards are blank; during each of your Draw Segments, choose 1 Storyline card in your Ring, it is not blank until your next Draw Segment.
Your Superstar-specific maneuvers with Momentum do not have it.
You can pack Edge or Randy Orton cards that are Unique and have only 1 Superstar logo, and You Think You Know Me.
You cannot pack Corner cards.

As I think they planned it, you get one storyline each turn and then it kicks off after your opponent's turn.  But as it is worded now, not only would that storyline completely replace the ability to kick it off, but it also makes the superstar-specifics have momentum again.
It might be worth adding in that the storyline adds to your ability.

Actually, as worded RKO will revert to one Storyline permanently.  The chosen Storyline will overwrite the SSA when unblanked, unblanking the second Storyline and, for the rest of the game, you'll be the Storyline you did NOT choose during turn 1's draw segment because the blanking effect in the SSA (the printed RKO ability) is no longer part of the game once the first Storyline overwrites it.  Oh, and your maneuvers will have momentum again, yes.

Expect this to be corrected so that Storylines add to your Ability instead of replacing it.

7
General Chat / Re: Promotion Celebration Postwhore-a-thon!
« on: May 23, 2018, 06:32:40 AM »
Congrats!  Hopefully the first of as many promotions as you want.

8
General Discussion: Raw Deal / Re: Backlash Podcast
« on: May 22, 2018, 10:57:40 AM »
didn't the Shane player just say "the hell with this" and scooped??  :laugh:

Yeah, pretty much.  Good times.

9
General Discussion: Raw Deal / Re: Backlash Podcast
« on: May 22, 2018, 09:28:29 AM »
That 3-way match was:

Gail Kim+Molly Holly/Team Angle/John Cena

defeated

Ric Flair/Evolution/Shane O' Mac

Clearly one side was making "A-Game" decks, while the other was (mostly) not.  That was the match where

-Evo played Hell In A Cell
-Cena (Anstett) dropped Kill Da Beat despite everyone on his own team being screwed by it.
-Flair got DQ'd on the Cow that revered Gail Kim's cross punches (me, Brass Knucks "punch" deck) and if he hadn't done that he would have been dead that turn anyway (no hand reversals, no Backlash (the card), and Arsenal couldn't touch it).  Leave it to Flair to lay down for the two chicks... :)
-After Flair got DQ'd, we took turns pounding Evolution until they (and their cell) were out, and then we did a team cheer before turning to the Shane player as he cringed in fear. 

10
General Discussion: Raw Deal / Re: Database??
« on: May 18, 2018, 06:43:55 AM »
The closest thing to an actively-updated Database is Lackey.

If you follow the instructions here to set up Lackey, instead of going to play games you can go to Deck Editor and search the cards.

You can also choose to play games (there's a pretty active community, regular online tournaments, and a discord channel) but for the purposes of this question that's not required.

11
Rene Dupree pins Rowdy Roddy Piper

12
No word from Monkeylord13 on my end.  Monkey, if you're seeing this, please reply to my PM.

13
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: Wrestling in the ECW Area
« on: May 06, 2018, 08:24:07 AM »
Yeah it was created for Yo Kill Da Beat, and it was prior to them deciding to just blank the OG and give a TB (similar to Pipers Pit), so now, not sure how beneficial it is

It still helps because cards with "taunt" in the title don't count towards the -2 pre capacity

Also it counts as an ECW card in your Ring (ACE of Allegiance) and it makes the opponent's TMFs +5F

14
Rules Forum / Re: Sexy beast and major announcement
« on: May 03, 2018, 07:11:38 AM »
Yes, he still needs to discard in order to search.  The "shuffle" in this case refers to shuffling two of the named cards into your Arsenal.

15
Virtual Raw Deal / Re: Dean Malenko ability discrepancy
« on: May 03, 2018, 05:48:17 AM »
The correct version is located in the Superstar Strategy guide

If there's a discrepancy with files (I can't check at work) then it will be corrected when we are able.

16
As I told you earlier, I hopped on when the Devils lost out.  Hopefully this continues.

17
Rules Forum / Re: Chair Shot Block
« on: April 24, 2018, 11:29:49 AM »
I must stand corrected - i made the same mistake as Buddha re: Foreign Object. Ill edit my post shortly.

18
Rules Forum / Re: Chair Shot Block
« on: April 24, 2018, 09:44:50 AM »
Ignore the strikethrough text. Will wait on ruling from someone else.

Short answer: none of the given outside reductions apply.  It is either 10F or 5F (based on the CSB's own text) as a reversal.

Long answer: Since the question is vague ("modifiers above" could be on the CSB or the outside), I'll answer it in multiple parts:

1) The Chair Shot Block's first line will apply when played as a maneuver or reversal because it doesn't specify either way.  If you remove a FO from the game from hand or Backlash, you can play it at 5F as a reversal.
2) None of the outside effects will apply when played as a reversal, because the reversal half of the card is not a Foreign Object, and when played, cards only keep the type that's being played.  When you elect to use CSB as a reversal, you lose the whole Strike part of it, including the Foreign Object.  If the reversal part were to get the outside discounts, the card would read like this (bolded denotes change).

Chair Shot Block
Strike: Foreign Object / Reversal: Special: Foreign Object
When played, you may remove 1 Foreign bObject in your hand or Backlash from the game; if you do, this card is -5F.
As a maneuver, this card is +10D.
As a reversal, reverse any Foreign Object and discard 1 card, when the reversed card has 'sink' in the title, any other Foreign Objects played this turn are considered not to be played.  When you have Allegiance: ECW, draw 1 card.
When this card is in your Ring, it is considered to be an ECW card, and when any player's Everything and the Kitchen Sink is reversed, that card is removed from the game.
F: 10     D: 0     Unique      Permanent

19
The top 4 in VC were Nidia, Chyna Doll, Big Poppa Pump, and Bret Hart, and before Worlds, I don't think anyone would have pegged any of those four decks as top tier, yet there they were in the top cut at Worlds.

BPP is always a thread to top-cut at Worlds.  So good.

Wasnt there some change done to bpp? I thought i heard about one or one comimg.

BPP can with around that Face card. 

He's not the godly mess he was pre-revision to the Coif, but he's still an excellent superstar.

20
The top 4 in VC were Nidia, Chyna Doll, Big Poppa Pump, and Bret Hart, and before Worlds, I don't think anyone would have pegged any of those four decks as top tier, yet there they were in the top cut at Worlds.

BPP is always a thread to top-cut at Worlds.  So good.

21
Rules Forum / Lilian: Amazing Announcer Question
« on: April 17, 2018, 10:41:06 AM »
Lilian: Amazing Announcer
Action: Run-in
Name 1 non-Superstar-specific Maneuver card.
When this card is in your Ring area, no player can play the named card.
F: 8      D: 0

If I play Lillian and name Backslide, does it block Backslide from being played as a reversal as well?

Not sure if this has been answered, but a search came up empty.

22
Rules Forum / Re: Need help on a timing issue
« on: April 17, 2018, 07:38:21 AM »
Short answer
Yes you can target the successfully played maneuver.  If you do, its text and damage do not apply, but outside effects will.

Explanation
It's a game rule that a card that leaves the Ring no longer has an effect on the game (unless the card moves itself as part of the timing sequence - see Iron Will).

Let's walk through the timing breakdown together assuming you meet the requirements to use Managed by Paul Heyman as the question asks. I'll quote the relevant steps at the bottom for reference.

Timing Step 6 - opponent's maneuver is successful and goes to the Ring.
Timing Step 7a - any outside "successfully played" effects for the player who played the maneuver fire - draw 1 for Managed by Lita, recover one for Flawless Execution, Heidenreich Superstar Ability, etc.
Timing Step 7b - now any of YOUR outside effects for his successfully played maneuvers fire.  This is where the text of Paul Heyman Guy works.  Managed by Paul Heyman activates immediately (and your opponent cannot reverse it because he cannot use reversal effects on his turn).  Since the successful maneuver is in the Ring as of Step 6, it can be targeted as long as it's a non-Backlash card (as Managed by Paul Heyman can't touch Backlash deck cards).   

Here's where the above game rule comes in.  The second you kick the maneuver to the Ringside, it no longer affects the game, ending the timing breakdown.  Which means that the text (normally resolved in step 8 ) and damage (step 9) are not there anymore, so there's nothing to resolve.

Quote
6 The card is now 'Successfully Played' and enters the Ring Area.  If this card is reversing the card in question (it is not the first reversal to a Multi, it is not Over Sell Maneuver), the affected maneuver is now considered reversed. (Any text on the card and any Traits on the card are considered to be in your Ring Area after this step is complete. This excludes text that would modify or trigger in any of the first six steps.)
6a Some cards are put into the Ringside Pile or other area instead of going to the Ring Area (Iron Will etc.) The Timing Breakdown still continues as normal, these cards never enter the Ring Area.  They will resolve during the text resolution (Step 8) at that time, and will still resolve to its destination even if blanked.

7a Effects you control (other than this card's text taking place when played or when successful played) that trigger on a Successfully Played card take place. In the event of more than one effect, you choose which order they occur.
7b Effects your opponent controls that trigger on a Successfully Played card take place. Opponent chooses the order. (This is where cards such as Over Sell Maneuver and Sustained Damage are played.)

8 Apply effects listed on the card, unless these effects take place ‘when played’ or ‘when this card is in’ a specified area.

9a Chance for activated damage modification (Sustained Damage, Los Guerreros)
9b Damage is overturned one card at a time. Appropriate reversals may be overturned.  (This is also the Step where cards are overturned for Raw & Ready, Over Sell Maneuver, and other cards that replace damage with overturning cards.)
9c Effects generated from resolving a maneuver’s damage may be performed by the player of the original card (searching for a Chain card, for example)
9d Effects generated from resolving a maneuver’s damage may be performed by the opponent (Jamie Noble’s superstar ability, activating There’s No Holding Me Back)
9e Any ‘end the turn’ effects are resolved, along with any effects triggered by ending the turn.

23
I'm gone for the next week or so - but if you don't mind that, I'm in.

24
Professional Wrestling Discussion / Re: YES! YES! YES!
« on: March 21, 2018, 04:50:44 AM »
it's a shame they moved the Miz to Raw, he's the PERFECT opponent (not only in storyline, but Miz's style would be VERY safe for D-Bry too).....i just hope this doesn't lead to D-Bry vs Stunt show McMahon .....I'm done with Shane at this point.....

I hope this is more than just "clear him so he stays in WWE"

Oh, don't worry about D-Bry vs. Shane. They're so much more likely to give you Bryan and Shane vs. KO and Zayn.  ;D

Honestly, given my druthers, I'd put D-Bry in a match where name value carries enough weight that nobody feels like they need to kill themselves for people to get their money's worth. Have a battle of the part-timers: Cena vs. Taker vs. Bryan. That way, you basically give Taker and Bryan half a match each against Cena, Bryan gets eased back into competition, and Taker gets a few rest spots so he doesn't completely grind himself into dust. I'm sure that's not what they'll do, but it's what I'd do with them.

To take this idea a bit further - I would suggest the better idea here would be Cena/Bryan vs. Zayn/Owens - not only do you have a tag match with rest spots for Bryan and two good, safe workers, but you also give one of your other products (whichever show the Bellas are on now) something to talk about.  Have Cena/Bryan "make a mistake" and Owens/Zayn go over to put over those guys in a big spot, then you can spin off a Cena/Bryan rivalry.  Keeps both of them occupied - Cena stays away from title #17 a bit longer, and Bryan works with a trio of safe workers to start his comeback.

25
Lackey Tournaments / Re: TCO Lackey Tournament #12!
« on: March 15, 2018, 11:51:10 AM »
I would be interested to see Nash, haven't seen a solid build for him personally. And why cut Too Cool? They haven't been making any waves really.

My thoughts exactly. Every time I think of building Too Cool I wonder why I'm not building Rikishi or Scotty instead.

Nash seems decent on paper but I've yet to see anything solid for him; I'm intrigued to see someone make something of him.

Too Cool, yes, is a slightly lesser Rikishi, but they get Tag support and you'll be surprised at the number of good two-words maneuvers there are.

As to Nash, I've played him enough to know he's good.  He was an eyelash away from being my pick for Worlds the year I went to Gencon

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 103