Team Canada Online

Raw Deal => Rules Forum => Topic started by: Hogtrail on March 25, 2020, 07:00:14 PM

Title: This is MY Hometown!
Post by: Hogtrail on March 25, 2020, 07:00:14 PM
This is MY Hometown!
Pre-match Storyline
Can only be played when your opponent has a Venue in his Ring and you do not have a Venue in your Ring.
You may immediately play a Venue card regardless of his effects; when "Your Town" is in his Ring, you may remove the top 2 cards of your Arsenal from the game and immediately play a Feud, Stipulation, Manager, or Object regardless of his card; you cannot play a non-Object card type that is already in your Ring.
F: 0     D: 0     Unique

Is the bolded sentence only contingent on Your Town being in opponent's ring, or is it a separate effect?
Title: Re: This is MY Hometown!
Post by: dilbert505 on March 25, 2020, 08:17:37 PM
The bolded clause is part of the "when Your Town is in his Ring" effect, but if Your Town is not in his Ring, it doesn't matter. At the point at which you can play This is MY Hometown, you already cannot play a Feud, Stipulation, or Manager. That clause is to prevent you from using the "immediately play a Feud, Stipulation, Manager, or Object" text to put a second Feud/Stip/Manager into your Ring.

(Example: you are The Four Horsemen, and for whatever reason, you're packing Managed by J.J. Dillon and Managed by "The Mouth of the South," Jimmy Hart. Your opponent plays Your Town, you play JJ. If you then play MY Hometown, you cannot then play Jimmy; however, if your opponent had not played Your Town and you'd played JJ, you wouldn't have been able to play Jimmy anyway. It's only the specific permission of MY Hometown that needed that possibility shut off.)
Title: Re: This is MY Hometown!
Post by: Hogtrail on March 25, 2020, 09:34:38 PM
I guess my concern comes from Pre-Match: Event and Pre-Match: Faction also being card types. As worded, I think you wouldn't be able to play any Events or Factions if opponent has Your Town in the ring and you have another Event/Faction.
Title: Re: This is MY Hometown!
Post by: dilbert505 on March 25, 2020, 10:23:57 PM
...OK, that is a very different question, and one that sounds like I need to check with the back office about the card's original design intent. Hold that thought.
Title: Re: This is MY Hometown!
Post by: Daeva on March 28, 2020, 08:06:30 AM
The third clause on MY Hometown's effect is a constraint to the second clause. It is not a continuous effect. This Is MY Hometown! does not restrict the player from doing anything after it finishes its Timing Breakdown.

I'll see about making that clearer in the next revision.