Team Canada Online

Raw Deal => Rules Forum => Topic started by: Nicodemvs on November 28, 2019, 03:53:47 AM

Title: Maneuvers/cards from ringside Aces?
Post by: Nicodemvs on November 28, 2019, 03:53:47 AM
I know Ace abilities are from The Ring area but was curious. so cards like Booker's thrust kick, Kidney punch, And The BlindSide cards as well as  other card  effects with similar text  being able to be played from the ringside pile are all not Aces right? even with very similar effects to Aces just from the ringside pile?
Title: Re: Maneuvers/cards from ringside Aces?
Post by: dilbert505 on November 28, 2019, 08:22:03 AM
Effects from zones that are not the Ring cannot, by definition, be ACEs, even effects like the Brothers of Destruction card whose name I can’t remember (Hellraisers to the End, maybe?) that move from the Ring to other zones, can be triggered from either zone, and are ACEs in the Ring. They cannot be reversed from other zones with ACE reversals.
Title: Re: Maneuvers/cards from ringside Aces?
Post by: Daeva on December 02, 2019, 11:24:43 AM
An effect is an Activated Card Effect if it A) comes from a card in your Ring, B) has a cost to activate it, and C) produces a discrete effect for that cost. If any of those letters are missing, it's not an ACE. Card is not in your Ring (Ringside / RFG / opponent's Ring)? Not an ACE. Card has no cost ("when you successfully play a maneuver, draw a card")? Not an ACE.
Title: Re: Maneuvers/cards from ringside Aces?
Post by: darkdestiny91 on December 17, 2019, 05:24:06 AM
An effect is an Activated Card Effect if it A) comes from a card in your Ring, B) has a cost to activate it, and C) produces a discrete effect for that cost. If any of those letters are missing, it's not an ACE. Card is not in your Ring (Ringside / RFG / opponent's Ring)? Not an ACE. Card has no cost ("when you successfully play a maneuver, draw a card")? Not an ACE.

Got a question to add for this one. For Terry Funk, he has a card that can be activated in the ring.

Funk's Branding Iron
Action: Foreign Object
Cannot be reversed by hybrid reversals.
Your opponent discards 1 random card.
Once during each of your turns when this card is in your hand, Ring, or Ringside, you may reveal it, shuffle it into your Arsenal, and draw up to 1 card.
F: 16     D: 4     Unique     ECW logo
V8

When it is in the ring, does it qualify as a ACE? From what it seems, it doesn't have a "cost" so just want to check.