Team Canada Online

Raw Deal => Rules Forum => Topic started by: Drywall on January 11, 2018, 02:25:24 PM

Title: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: Drywall on January 11, 2018, 02:25:24 PM
Don't make fun of me for asking but:

Can Shane O' Mac (The Superstar) pack Shane O' Mac? (The action)
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: Eric RD on January 11, 2018, 02:34:11 PM
Nothing on either card states that it cannot be packed.
Shame O Mac can even be Managed by Shane O Mac.
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: Drywall on January 11, 2018, 02:37:29 PM
Nothing on either card states that it cannot be packed.
Shame O Mac can even be Managed by Shane O Mac.

I'm not referring to card text, I'm asking because both cards share the same title. For example, The 8th Wonder of the World (superstar) cannot Pack The 8th Wonder of the World (action)
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: Hogtrail on January 11, 2018, 02:54:29 PM
I believe the action is "Shane O'Mac" and the superstar is "Shane O' Mac".

Note the space between O' and Mac
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: Eric RD on January 11, 2018, 02:59:10 PM
I found the ruling you’re rwferring to here.
http://teamcanadaonline.net///index.php/topic,10168.msg122318.html#msg122318

Neither FAQ covers this and there’s nothing that states in the Omni FAQ when the game was produced by Comic Images about the illegality of this interaction. 

Saw Hogtrail reply as I was typing this up. The Omni FAQ has his name with a space.
“Shane O’ Mac
-This superstar is not “Shane McMahon” and has no appropriate text, receiving no bonus from Here Comes the Money.”
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: CreedP on January 11, 2018, 03:11:10 PM
Yes, it's legal.  Neither card is a Throwback, so that rule doesn't apply.

Weird that the names are so similar, but no issues.

CREED
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: Drywall on January 11, 2018, 03:14:26 PM
On an unrelated side-note: I'm bummed out we never got a Shane O' Mac N Cheese. Those commercials would have been awesome.

"Hungry? Shane O' Mac N Cheese will hit the high-spot! Here comes the money to fill up your tummy, yeah baby yeah! Will you ever go back to your normal mac n cheese? There's no chance in hell!"

I'll see myself out.
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: Eric RD on January 11, 2018, 03:16:50 PM
Yes, it's legal.  Neither card is a Throwback, so that rule doesn't apply.

Weird that the names are so similar, but no issues.

CREED

Off topic from the question, but a follow up to the Throwback mention.
With a Superstar card being Unique and considered to have the same name as the card title, is the Throwback necessary for this rule to take effect?
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: dilbert505 on January 11, 2018, 03:58:39 PM
Yes, it's legal.  Neither card is a Throwback, so that rule doesn't apply.

Weird that the names are so similar, but no issues.

CREED

Off topic from the question, but a follow up to the Throwback mention.
With a Superstar card being Unique and considered to have the same name as the card title, is the Throwback necessary for this rule to take effect?

Superstar Cards are not unique, as Dude Love may pack 3 Mankind and 3 Cactus Jack in his Arsenal.

Quote from: OmniFAQ
Dude Love
-The Mankind and Cactus Jack Superstar cards are of the card type: Superstar Card. They do not do anything other than take up space in your Arsenal/Hand/Ringside pile, except where specifically noted.
-The Superstar cards in Dude’s Arsenal are not Unique. They cannot be searched for with One of a Kind.
Title: Re: The weirdest rules question I've had
Post by: Eric RD on January 11, 2018, 05:25:11 PM
You’re right. The faq says that you can only pack one of any card, not that cards are unique like I had thought. Thanks for the correction.